MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Software
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Software Software such as operating systems like Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 etc., or specific programs.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-15-05, 00:56
dumbluck dumbluck is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question startup programs don't load on the first login

This is.... odd. I THINK that some (not all) of my programs that are supposed to start at startup ...don't. At least not the first time I log in. If I log out, then log back in, they (almost) always all load. (I'm on a mult-user machine at home) It doesn't happen all the time, and it isn't the same programs every time. In fact, I haven't been able to determine any pattern at all. I'm not even entirely certain that they indeed HAVEN'T loaded; I just know that they aren't showing up in my system tray.

Oh, I forgot. Stats.
XP Home edition, SP2
The progs that are supposed to run at startup:
Zone Alarm (free), United Devices agent (a parallell processing program, like your protein folding program), APC Powerchute, BigFix, Spybot S-D resident, freeram xp pro, Avast on-access scanner/Virus Recovery DB.
__________________
May your Life prosper and your Dreams be sweet.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 05-17-05, 16:44
dumbluck dumbluck is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: startup programs don't load on the first login

uhh, any suggestions on how to fix this?
__________________
May your Life prosper and your Dreams be sweet.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-19-05, 14:56
Yargwel's Avatar
Yargwel Yargwel is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Pompey, UK
Posts: 1,688
Thanks: 6
Thanked 22 Times in 21 Posts
Default Re: startup programs don't load on the first login

Try disabling the United Devices agent - although I'm running Win98SE I used to have the same problem (although MOST of the programs were running but not visible in the systray) and stopping the UD agent from starting at startup cured the problem.

Hope it's as easy as that. :D
__________________
What if there were no hypothetical questions?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger