MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-26-05, 14:27
influence's Avatar
influence influence is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy Monitor gets "No signal" after boot-up!

I was working in some audio programs last night and my PC began to freeze. However, it was still active and somewhat glitchy (graphics where disapearing and turning white). I had to perform a hard reboot with the "reset button". Everything seemed to work OK after that. Today I start up the PC and start working again. It started getting glitchy again and froze. Again, I had to perform a hard reboot. This time my computer never came back. After I hit the power button, the HDD light flashes and then turns off, the power supply is running, the fans are running, the mouse has its led light, the Hard drive is running and the internal speaker beeps once. However, it wont even go into BIOS. All I get on the screen is "no signal". Is my graphics card fried? How can I troubleshoot this problem?
Thanks in advance.

P4 2.8 ghz
Windows XP Pro
1.5 Ram
Radeon 9200 Graphics Card

P.S. Yes, I checked to make sure everything was plugged in correctly.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 07-26-05, 16:40
Kibble's Avatar
Kibble Kibble is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 103
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Monitor gets "No signal" after boot-up!

Freaky, I was JUST going to post this same topic!!

I was playing WoW a few days ago, and my computer suddenly locked up and froze completely. "Hmm, thats strange" I thought to myself. I tried to turn my computer back on, and everything turned back on. Lights, fans, everything, EXCEPT my fan on the bottom of my graphics card. I got the 'MONITOR IS WORKING! CHECK SIGNAL/CABLE" message displayed on my computer, so I at first assumed it was just my graphic card frying again.

So I took out my card and checked for signs of burning (Like my last one). This card had no signs of problems anywhere on it, it didn't smell burnt, the fan turned fine, ect. There was nothing physically wrong with it! Anyway, I took the Geforce 4 MX440 out of this computer and tried to plug it into my good computer, and I got the same message! So now I know that it wasn't a graphic card related problem, since a 100% working card didn't work in my computer.

Here are the hardware specs on my dead computer:
1gig DDR400 ram
Athlon 3200+ XP processor
Asus A7V600-X mobo
Radeon 9800 Pro
80gig HDD
420w Raidmax PSU

I already tried checking both sticks of ram, and they are fine. My HD lights up, and the fans turn on my CPU, so I don't think those are the problem. I reset my BIOS by taking out the battery while my computer sat unplugged for an hour, and still, no dice. The only thing I can think of that could be wrong with my computer is my motherboard, like maybe it cooked.

Any help is appreciated. I can get my computer to turn on, just it doesn't get to BIOS and no graphics come on the screen.

Thanks!! Hopefuly somoene can help either of us :P

--Kibb
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-26-05, 17:17
Kibble's Avatar
Kibble Kibble is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 103
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Monitor gets "No signal" after boot-up!

Quote:
Originally Posted by D3m3nt3d
Kibble, its kinda hard to read two different peoples specs at the same time and two different yet similiar problems at the same time and try and provide help.

Influence, sounds like it could have overheated. Do you by chance have a way of hooking another monitor to it?

Yah, I know I shouldn't Hijack threads. It's just I bet our problems are solved by the same means, so instead of making a new thread, I figured I'd post here for simplicity. Sorry~.

--Kibb
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-26-05, 21:40
Kibble's Avatar
Kibble Kibble is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 103
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Monitor gets "No signal" after boot-up!

Nobody? =/

I'm gunna get a new mobo tommorow, hopefully this solves the problem.

--Kibb
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-27-05, 01:24
influence's Avatar
influence influence is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Monitor gets "No signal" after boot-up!

Quote:
Originally Posted by D3m3nt3d
Kibble, its kinda hard to read two different peoples specs at the same time and two different yet similiar problems at the same time and try and provide help.

Influence, sounds like it could have overheated. Do you by chance have a way of hooking another monitor to it?
No, I do not have access to another monitor at this time. However, I did save the video card out of an older Dell machine that I scrapped for parts. I removed my Radeon and replaced it with the Dell. The monitor came on after a reboot but started going crazy with the beeps from the internal speaker and listed an error with the A drive. This is strange because I do not have an A drive and I have this disabled in BIOS.
Is it because its a Dell video card? Maybe they have it encripted to not work with any other machines? Anyways, it does seem to be the video card considering that I had somewhat of a picture after I changed my old one out. What do you think?
Also, what card should I look into purchasing now? I am a music producer and would perfer a card that can handle two monitors and maybe a intergrated fan.
Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 07-27-05, 11:35
Rikky's Avatar
Rikky Rikky is offline
Wile E. Coyote - One of a kind
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Thin line between the ideological and the pragmatic
Posts: 10,160
Thanks: 572
Thanked 738 Times in 638 Posts
Default Re: Monitor gets "No signal" after boot-up!

If the dell card is really old it could be the first revision of agp cards,although it fits the signalling voltage is different this could explain the problem,I'd take it out before something is damaged,you could post the specs of it or take a photo and post it,could you also check the atx 12v is plugged in near the cpu
__________________
"No one panics when things go according to plan, even when the plan is horrifying." The Joker
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-28-05, 16:21
influence's Avatar
influence influence is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Monitor gets "No signal" after boot-up!

OK, So I went out and purchased a new video card. I installed it and nothing.
So, i decided to start taking the Ram out one at a time. I took the 1 GB stick out and same problem. I took out the 512 stick and my computer finally came back. However, the stick looked fine. So, I stuck it in my third slot and it still works. Did I burn out a slot on the Motherboard somehow. Has anybody ever heard of this?
Thanks for all your help.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-28-05, 20:39
Kibble's Avatar
Kibble Kibble is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 103
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Monitor gets "No signal" after boot-up!

I bought a new mobo today, I'm gunna give that shot. But I tried the RAM thing... I took both peices out and put one in my last slot, and it still didn't boot up, BUT my video card fan started running (Thats an improvement~)

I'll install new mobo and junk and let you guys know what happened, but this sounds like a mobo/ram issue here.

--Kibb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger