MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-15-05, 16:02
oddray oddray is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 66
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default what kind of ram should di buy??

the ram i am going to buy is around the 100 range. im also getting a gig of it. first off should i get corsair or kingston??
specs
athlon 64 3200+ 2.00
saphfire ati x850 xt
i think i have a 300w power supplly but im not sure.
ram right now is hinx 512 400mhz i think. 3200. ddr sdram
i bought some ram that didn't fit now im not sure what kind of ram would be good to play battlefield 2 and half life with full settings.
plz reply to this thread
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 08-15-05, 16:27
Rage2K's Avatar
Rage2K Rage2K is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: what kind of ram should di buy??

I have corsair and am pleased with it. What kind of motherboard do you have? Also you should get a bigger power supply than 300w if that's how big it really is... just an opinion.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-15-05, 16:34
pacvan's Avatar
pacvan pacvan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: 93 million miles from the sun, in those states that are united. In Nevada.
Posts: 106
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: what kind of ram should di buy??

I would go with the Corsair. I have been pleased with their RAM.
__________________
Blessed are the geeks, for they shall internet the earth.

And remember, there is no place like 127.0.0.1.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-15-05, 23:47
Icesurfer Icesurfer is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: what kind of ram should di buy??

I use OCZ RAM. It's a fairly new company, I think, but highly acclaimed, and I've never had any problems. You might check it out if you want a couple of brands to choose from, though Corsair is a great company, too.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-16-05, 05:42
bluenick bluenick is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: what kind of ram should di buy??

i wud definitely go for corsair, i would also suggest at least 450w power supply, make sure it is atx 2.0 compliant, anyone knows how to discover what latency your ram is? on corsair site it is not specified for my particular model (just described as twinx low latency)
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 08-16-05, 06:33
Jerkyking's Avatar
Jerkyking Jerkyking is offline
Sergeant Major
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Saint Ignace, Michigan (Da UP)
Posts: 825
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default Re: what kind of ram should di buy??

I've always bought thru Crucial. Quick and often free shipping. You can pick your system or let their "memory configurator" scan your system for the best match.

http://www.crucial.com/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-16-05, 14:39
pacvan's Avatar
pacvan pacvan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: 93 million miles from the sun, in those states that are united. In Nevada.
Posts: 106
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: what kind of ram should di buy??

Yeah, I would say go with Crucial or Corsair.
__________________
Blessed are the geeks, for they shall internet the earth.

And remember, there is no place like 127.0.0.1.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-16-05, 15:59
Rikky's Avatar
Rikky Rikky is offline
Wile E. Coyote - One of a kind
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Thin line between the ideological and the pragmatic
Posts: 10,077
Thanks: 546
Thanked 717 Times in 617 Posts
Default Re: what kind of ram should di buy??

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluenick
i wud definitely go for corsair, i would also suggest at least 450w power supply, make sure it is atx 2.0 compliant, anyone knows how to discover what latency your ram is? on corsair site it is not specified for my particular model (just described as twinx low latency)
corsair xms twinx has latencies of 2-3-3-6 and the twinx xl has latencies of 2-2-2-5

I agree with bluenick,wouldnt even turn your computer on again without changing that 300w psu,the 850 is power hungry I'm suprised you havnt had problems before

The memory you say is around $100,it depends how much you want to spend for performance,lower the latencies the better on an a64 system,I have corsair xms twinx it overclocks to about 230mhz at cas 3,the xl series would probably do that at cas 2
__________________
"No one panics when things go according to plan, even when the plan is horrifying." The Joker
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55.


MajorGeeks.Com Home Page
| Admin Tools | All In One | Anti-Spyware | Anti-Virus | Appearance | Backup | Benchmarking | BIOS | Browsers | Covert Ops |
Data Recovery | Diagnostics | Drive Cleaners | Drive Utilities | Drivers | Driver Tools Ergonomics | Firewalls | Games | Game Tweaks | Graphics | Input Devices | Internet Tools | Macintosh | Mail Utilities | Memory | Messaging | Monitoring | Microsoft | Multimedia | Networking | Office Tools | Process Management | Processor | Registry | Security | System Info | Toys | Video | Miscellaneous
|
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger