MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-17-05, 11:44
mjpage mjpage is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 122
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Does backup to external drive take 8 hrs?

My new Maxtor 200GB external hard drive takes several hours to backup my Windows Me pc. I don't know the size of the Me's hard drive offhand (I'm at a different pc right now), but it's definitely not huge. Maybe 400MB of pictures, decent amount of documents, a lot of installed programs, but nothing fancy that would require a ton of memory. I'm sure it's average sized.

But regardless, shouldn't an average hard drive backup take minutes, not hours?

I'm sure I connected the Maxtor correctly, and their website is decent but has no answer to this problem. (I emailed them; will get a reply in "one business day.")

Thanks...

Megan in Michigan
__________________
"There is no one absolutely essential truth for all people." - Peter Jennings
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 09-17-05, 12:27
DavidGP's Avatar
DavidGP DavidGP is offline
MajorGeeks Forum Administrator - Grand Pooh-Bah
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 38,838
Thanks: 3,018
Thanked 3,108 Times in 2,820 Posts
Default Re: Does backup to external drive take 8 hrs?

How long.... not an easy one to answer but for an example, my used HD space of around 15gb takes 10mins to backup ( using Acronis True Image ) but I'm not using external HDs.

I installed a Maxtor OneTouch II yesterday on an XP PC with USB2.0 and the backup took 12mins for 17gb of data.

A few questions for you while you wait for Maxtor to get back to you and I have found their customer service personally superb.

1. DO you have USB2.0 on your PC? ( easy way to find out is to right-click on My Computer > Properties > Device Manager tab, then look at the USB entries for Enhanced USB )

2. If you do have USB2.0 then try a different USB port the back ones are normally the USB2.0 ports IF your motherboard supports USB2.0.

3. If you download EVEREST and once installed click Computer and Summary and under Peripherials see if it mentions USB Enhanced Controller?

You can also give us the name and model of your motherboard while in that listing.

-----------
If you are using USB1.1 or that is all your motherboard supports then sadly the data transfer to an external device will be slower ( personally wouldnt have thought 8hrs tho )

Last edited by DavidGP; 09-17-05 at 16:04..
  #3  
Old 09-17-05, 12:44
AMDxp's Avatar
AMDxp AMDxp is offline
N5638J's #2 Fan!
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 166
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: Does backup to external drive take 8 hrs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjpage
My new Maxtor 200GB external hard drive takes several hours to backup my Windows Me pc. I don't know the size of the Me's hard drive offhand (I'm at a different pc right now), but it's definitely not huge. Maybe 400MB of pictures, decent amount of documents, a lot of installed programs, but nothing fancy that would require a ton of memory. I'm sure it's average sized.

But regardless, shouldn't an average hard drive backup take minutes, not hours?

I'm sure I connected the Maxtor correctly, and their website is decent but has no answer to this problem. (I emailed them; will get a reply in "one business day.")

Thanks...

Megan in Michigan
I use a Maxtor One Touch 120Gb External drive and Norton Ghost 9 (actually Power Quests Drive image 7, but they sold out to Norton when they went bankrupt lol) and my 8.67 Gb worth of C: (windows XP and all its sundry things) only takes about 7 minutes to back up if you dont use the verify option (13 minutes with verify) it also uses that V2i Technology which means you dont have to run in DOS mode to do the backup, you can do it while windows is running!, my question would be are you having to run in DOS mode to back up ? im guessing you do if your running ME.if so it could be a lack of USB support in DOS thats causing the very slow backup (mine uses USB2)
__________________
When it's Just going right.. It all goes horribly wrong!
  #4  
Old 09-17-05, 16:02
mjpage mjpage is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 122
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Does backup to external drive take 8 hrs?

Hi again...
Sorry I took so long to get back to you. I'm at the pc in question now, and I'll be answering your questions soon. Thanks!
__________________
"There is no one absolutely essential truth for all people." - Peter Jennings
  #5  
Old 09-17-05, 16:27
mjpage mjpage is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 122
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Does backup to external drive take 8 hrs?

AMDxp -

No, I don't have to run in DOS mode. In fact, the Maxtor user interface is almost TOO easy. They install a program called Retrospect Express, which guides you through the backup process and offers you very few advanced options. But maybe that's good - I'm obviously not "advanced" if I'm here asking for help!
__________________
"There is no one absolutely essential truth for all people." - Peter Jennings
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 09-17-05, 16:45
mjpage mjpage is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 122
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Does backup to external drive take 8 hrs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Halo
How long.... not an easy one to answer but for an example, my used HD space of around 15gb takes 10mins to backup ( using Acronis True Image ) but I'm not using external HDs.

I installed a Maxtor OneTouch II yesterday on an XP PC with USB2.0 and the backup took 12mins for 17gb of data.

A few questions for you while you wait for Maxtor to get back to you and I have found their customer service personally superb.

1. DO you have USB2.0 on your PC? ( easy way to find out is to right-click on My Computer > Properties > Device Manager tab, then look at the USB entries for Enhanced USB )

2. If you do have USB2.0 then try a different USB port the back ones are normally the USB2.0 ports IF your motherboard supports USB2.0.

3. If you download EVEREST and once installed click Computer and Summary and under Peripherials see if it mentions USB Enhanced Controller?

You can also give us the name and model of your motherboard while in that listing.

-----------
If you are using USB1.1 or that is all your motherboard supports then sadly the data transfer to an external device will be slower ( personally wouldnt have thought 8hrs tho )
halo...

10 minutes for 15 gigs? How cool. I hope I can do the same once I get this problem fixed.

I looked under the USB thing in Device Manager, and there is no "Enhanced USB" area at all. Just regular USB. It's properties say it's not working properly, and that's it. No yellow flags or anything. I tried to update the driver, but the pc kept freezing up on me.

I gave up, and opened Internet Explorer... As I write this (on a pc right next to the one with the problem), the MajorGeeks Everest download page is loading... and has been for 15 minutes. I guess the whole pc is super-slow for some reason. It does that fairly often, though never when I was doing a backup to the Maxtor One Touch.

During an 8 hour backup, the screen displays a window showing the "progress," if you could call it that, so I know it's not freezing up. Still, do you think this current slowness is related to the backup slowness?

Sorry I can't answer your other questions right now... Can you tell me another way besides Everest to find out about my motherboard? And if my USB port is 1.1 or 2.0?
__________________
"There is no one absolutely essential truth for all people." - Peter Jennings
  #7  
Old 09-17-05, 16:45
Prophets21's Avatar
Prophets21 Prophets21 is offline
Staff Sergeant
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 553
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Does backup to external drive take 8 hrs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjpage
But maybe that's good - I'm obviously not "advanced" if I'm here asking for help!
Not really true. Even experts have to ask questions to fellow techies.
  #8  
Old 09-17-05, 16:55
mjpage mjpage is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 122
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Does backup to external drive take 8 hrs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prophets21
Not really true. Even experts have to ask questions to fellow techies.
Yeah, you're right... thanks!
__________________
"There is no one absolutely essential truth for all people." - Peter Jennings
  #9  
Old 09-17-05, 16:58
DavidGP's Avatar
DavidGP DavidGP is offline
MajorGeeks Forum Administrator - Grand Pooh-Bah
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 38,838
Thanks: 3,018
Thanked 3,108 Times in 2,820 Posts
Default Re: Does backup to external drive take 8 hrs?

@prophets21 ~ never a truer statment


@megan ~ well if you have a message that USB is not woring properly, then that may well be the cause if the slowness.

How to retify... well we need to know the motherboard name/model, but quick question, is this a DELL,HP or other pre-built PC? if so which one and what model number?

Only other way would be to turn off pc and open it up and look on the motherboard for a name and model number.

I would also be tempted to reinstal the maxtor software and drivers incase they didnt install correctly, I have had to do the same before with the Onetouch drives, re-install the software and reboot.
  #10  
Old 09-17-05, 17:15
mjpage mjpage is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 122
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Does backup to external drive take 8 hrs?

Yeah, the USB problem could certainly be the Maxtor's problem, but it probably isn't the cause of all the freez-ups that have been happening for months, right? But I guess that's another thread!

Anyway, it's a Dell Dimension 4100. And to be more specific about the USB thing:

In Device Mgr, under USB contollers, there are 2 things listed. One says Intel universal host controller, the other (which is the one with the problem) says USB Root Hub. It's proprties say it's working fine.

BUT, under its Power tab, when I click Power Properties, it says "The hub is not working properly."

You can tell I don't know much about the meaning of Device Manager entries!
__________________
"There is no one absolutely essential truth for all people." - Peter Jennings
Sponsored links
  #11  
Old 09-17-05, 17:57
zepper's Avatar
zepper zepper is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Finger Lakes area of NY
Posts: 242
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lightbulb Re: Does backup to external drive take 8 hrs?

After you get your USB problem fingered out, be sure that Delayed Writes to the external drive is set to DISABLED. Win has lots of USB patches and your mobo drirvers may have some too. Do all the ones that are appropriate.

.bh.
  #12  
Old 09-17-05, 18:19
mjpage mjpage is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 122
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Does backup to external drive take 8 hrs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zepper
After you get your USB problem fingered out, be sure that Delayed Writes to the external drive is set to DISABLED. Win has lots of USB patches and your mobo drirvers may have some too. Do all the ones that are appropriate.

.bh.
Delayed Writes? That's an option? Definitely sounds like something I wanna disable. I'm not sure where I would find it in order to disable it, though. In the properties window of something, I assume?
__________________
"There is no one absolutely essential truth for all people." - Peter Jennings
  #13  
Old 09-17-05, 18:24
~Pyrate~'s Avatar
~Pyrate~ ~Pyrate~ is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Slums of the Future
Posts: 1,570
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Does backup to external drive take 8 hrs?

sound like a bad driver... might try installing updated USB drivers
__________________
Windows XP SP1, P4 2.8c, Abit IC7-G, PQI 2x512MB PC3200, ATI Radeon 9800 Pro, Turtle Beach Santa Cruz, Antec 480w, Razer Copperhead

"Thanks to Mr. Gates, we now know that an open Internet with protocols anyone can implement is communism; [after all,] it was set up by that famous communist [agency], the U.S. Department of Defense."
  #14  
Old 09-17-05, 18:39
mjpage mjpage is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 122
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Does backup to external drive take 8 hrs?

Pyrate,

Thanks for your reply... I did try to install updated USB drivers, but it said I have the latest ones available. And I can't look online right now, because every page literally takes 45 minutes to load!

Also, I've been doing some research and I'm pretty sure I must have USB 1.1, not 2.0, and that's a cause for many of my problems... Esp. since I connect to my cable modem via a USB port. I don't have an ethernet card, so I have to use an ethenet cable adapter.

Anyone know if connecting to the internet through a USB 1.1 port would slow things down?
__________________
"There is no one absolutely essential truth for all people." - Peter Jennings
  #15  
Old 09-17-05, 19:06
Insomniac's Avatar
Insomniac Insomniac is offline
Billy Ray Cyrus #1 Fan
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia. Where else would you want to live?
Posts: 6,449
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Default Re: Does backup to external drive take 8 hrs?

This is from memory,

USB 2.0 has a rating of 480 mbps.

USB 1.1 has a rating of 12 mbps.

So yes, it's slower, 40 times slower.


First thing to do is to make sure your motherboard actually has USB 2 to begin with.
__________________
Hairdresser to the Mods.

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level, then beat you with experience.
Sponsored links
  #16  
Old 09-17-05, 19:32
zepper's Avatar
zepper zepper is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Finger Lakes area of NY
Posts: 242
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lightbulb Re: Does backup to external drive take 8 hrs?

Yes, USB 1.1 will slow down a USB modem. A USB dial-up modem is a soft modem and needs a high speed interface as your CPU is actually doing a lot of the work. If it is a cable modem or DSL, then it will slow that too. So you may need a high speed USB 2 PCI card and if you are connecting to the front panel, you need to make sure that the USB cable to the front panel is shielded (usually printed on the jacket but not hard to determine IAC) and that the shield is actually connected to ground. Poor cables will cause a shift back to a lower speed if it works at all.

.bh.
  #17  
Old 09-17-05, 19:36
Insomniac's Avatar
Insomniac Insomniac is offline
Billy Ray Cyrus #1 Fan
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia. Where else would you want to live?
Posts: 6,449
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Default Re: Does backup to external drive take 8 hrs?

Firstly, your information on USB modems is incorrect, and secondly, what do modems have to do with this thread?

Not being antagonistic, just confused?
__________________
Hairdresser to the Mods.

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level, then beat you with experience.
  #18  
Old 09-17-05, 20:44
mjpage mjpage is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 122
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Does backup to external drive take 8 hrs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Insomniac
Firstly, your information on USB modems is incorrect, and secondly, what do modems have to do with this thread?

Not being antagonistic, just confused?
Insomniac,

Firstly, are you talking about the information I gave on USB modems, or that I know about them? And secondly, modems do not have anything to do with a thread about an external hard drive, as I acknowledged in an earlier posting. With all due respect, if you had taken the time to actually read the entire thread, you would understand why we are talking about the modem. It IS relevant to this situation.

AMDxp, ~Pyrate~, Prophets21, Halo & zepper,

Thank you so much for all of your help... I think a lot of it is a moot point now because I just went out & bought an ethernet card & a USB 2.0 card.

I still can't use the internet, so I can't download any programs to help me find out who makes my mobo. So until I actually look at it, I guess I can't know for sure if I should bother to install the USB 2.0 card, right? Because it may only support 1.1?

I'm kind of embarassed to ask this, but can I upgrade my mobo to accept USB 2.0 through software, or is it a physical property of the motherboard?

Last question - should I start a new thread?? Or does someone wanna PM me with a final answer?
__________________
"There is no one absolutely essential truth for all people." - Peter Jennings
  #19  
Old 09-17-05, 21:48
Insomniac's Avatar
Insomniac Insomniac is offline
Billy Ray Cyrus #1 Fan
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia. Where else would you want to live?
Posts: 6,449
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Default Re: Does backup to external drive take 8 hrs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjpage
Insomniac,

Firstly, are you talking about the information I gave on USB modems, or that I know about them?

I was talking to zepper and his reply, not yours. His information is incorrect.

Maybe if you had taken the time and read the entire thread, then you would understand?

To answer your question, no you cannot upgrade your motherboard through software to be USB 2.0.

The only way, as you have discovered, is to use a PCI card.
__________________
Hairdresser to the Mods.

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level, then beat you with experience.
  #20  
Old 09-17-05, 21:54
Insomniac's Avatar
Insomniac Insomniac is offline
Billy Ray Cyrus #1 Fan
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia. Where else would you want to live?
Posts: 6,449
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Default Re: Does backup to external drive take 8 hrs?

Here is an example, if you are still confused.


Quote:
Yes, USB 1.1 will slow down a USB modem. A USB dial-up modem is a soft modem and needs a high speed interface as your CPU is actually doing a lot of the work.

There is no speed improvement for modems between USB 1.1 or USB 2.0.

USB 1.1 provides more than enough bandwith.
__________________
Hairdresser to the Mods.

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level, then beat you with experience.
Sponsored links
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger