MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Software
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Software Software such as operating systems like Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 etc., or specific programs.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-29-05, 15:38
rogvalcox's Avatar
rogvalcox rogvalcox is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Far west Chicago suburb
Posts: 2,311
Thanks: 0
Thanked 23 Times in 22 Posts
Default 1 hardware firewall, and 1 software firewall...is that bad or unnecassary??

If I have a firewall in my Linksys router, plus my Norton firewall...is that considered the same as they telling you not to have more than one AV and firewall on your system!!!!????

Reason I ask...I wonder if that is what is causing my downloads to slow way down, from about 150 to 25!!!! Yes that much!!

Roger
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 09-29-05, 16:08
Just Playin's Avatar
Just Playin Just Playin is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: At the bottom of Bass Lake
Posts: 3,840
Thanks: 67
Thanked 306 Times in 266 Posts
Default Re: 1 hardware firewall, and 1 software firewall...is that bad or unnecassary??

Quote:
Originally Posted by rogvalcox
If I have a firewall in my Linksys router, plus my Norton firewall...is that considered the same as they telling you not to have more than one AV and firewall on your system!!!!????

Reason I ask...I wonder if that is what is causing my downloads to slow way down, from about 150 to 25!!!! Yes that much!!

Roger
No, it's not. The hardware firewall in your router and the software firewall on your computer are two separate systems.
__________________
The most dangerous man in the world is the one with nothing to lose.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-29-05, 18:15
rogvalcox's Avatar
rogvalcox rogvalcox is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Far west Chicago suburb
Posts: 2,311
Thanks: 0
Thanked 23 Times in 22 Posts
Default Re: 1 hardware firewall, and 1 software firewall...is that bad or unnecassary??

Well....that's kind of what I thought, but I was looking for reinforcements!!!!

It is really driving me nuts as to why my download speeds are fluctuating so much throughout the day!!!! Me and my dad are both very good with avoiding/eliminating viruses/spyware (currently i'm talking about my dads comp) so I know it is not that!!!! I've always heard that with cable internet you are sharing bandwith with god knows how many people at any given time, and the more you are sharing with at the moment...the slower your connection will be!!!! I don't know to what extent that is 100% true, but even so...would it affect it that much!!!!????

Roger
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-29-05, 19:58
ASUS's Avatar
ASUS ASUS is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: EARTH
Posts: 3,584
Thanks: 0
Thanked 69 Times in 61 Posts
Talking Re: 1 hardware firewall, and 1 software firewall...is that bad or unnecassary??

Quote:
Originally Posted by rogvalcox
If I have a firewall in my Linksys router, plus my Norton firewall...is that considered the same as they telling you not to have more than one AV and firewall on your system!!!!????
Roger
Not the same thing.
Both are a Must IMO & are necessary for Optimal Protection.
You'll have no conflict running hardware & software but keep in mind you will need to configure them for your needs.
I would recommend running a Hardware firewall (router) & software firewall as well as AV & spyware utilities.

Here's link with some general info on both types firewall
http://www.smallbusinesscomputing.co...le.php/3103431
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ASUS For This Useful Post:
mjnc (06-10-11)
  #5  
Old 09-29-05, 20:15
theefool's Avatar
theefool theefool is offline
Post and Run Geek #2
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Indiana
Posts: 6,747
Thanks: 118
Thanked 233 Times in 220 Posts
Default Re: 1 hardware firewall, and 1 software firewall...is that bad or unnecassary??

I also agree that both a hardware firewall and a software firewall is a must. The NFORCE 4 chipset has this built in on the chipset itself (well the hardware portion), then it also has a software portion as an additive.

On our work's test machine, it seems to be doing a decent job.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 00:30.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger