MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-12-05, 05:28
sjp's Avatar
sjp sjp is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Llanidloes, Mid-Wales, UK
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default REQ: NVIDIA FX5200 Video card optimum settings

Can anyone help me optimise the graphics card to run GTA SA, Half Life 2 etc.. without the glitches and jumps (mainly when there is a lot of sound etc...)

I fitted a soundblaster live card and switched of the motherboard sound via the bios which i thought would help (i thought the soundcard would take some strain of the CPU)

Or will i just need a better CPU? 2ghz or more?

Gigabyte GA-7S748 motherboard
768mb RAM (DDR400)
NVIDIA XFX FX5500 128mb AGP 8x card
Athlon 1.26Ghz Processor
Win XP Pro SP2
19" sony CRT monitor
1024x768 16bit setup on most games and main screen

I try to switch of any AF AA etc... on the graphics.

I DO run Norton Systemworks but disable it when playing games. I also have all my PC's networked together (hard wired) but disable the LAN when playing online (this also supplies my broadband via LAN ADSL modem).

Thanks in advance!

Si.
__________________
http://www.frozenuk.com/
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 10-12-05, 05:33
hugh750's Avatar
hugh750 hugh750 is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Alabama (USA)
Posts: 1,032
Thanks: 10
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
Default Re: REQ: NVIDIA FX5200 Video card optimum settings

I don't think the geforce fx 5200 is fast enough for gta san andreas and half life 2 because i have ran gta san andreas with a geforce fx 5700le and i must be getting at least 30-40 fps with it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-12-05, 06:43
Jerkyking's Avatar
Jerkyking Jerkyking is offline
Sergeant Major
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Saint Ignace, Michigan (Da UP)
Posts: 825
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default Re: REQ: NVIDIA FX5200 Video card optimum settings

Quote:
Originally Posted by hugh750
I don't think the geforce fx 5200 is fast enough for gta san andreas and half life 2 because i have ran gta san andreas with a geforce fx 5700le and i must be getting at least 30-40 fps with it.
I can't speak of San Andreas but my 5200 plays HL2 fine. Never checked the FPS but I rarely get any lag (with NIS running). I have a 2.4Ghz P4 and a Gig of ram. "sjp", I won't be able to check the video settings till Friday, I'm sure they are mid to low settings but it works for me.
__________________
Read more... Post less !!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-12-05, 06:48
sjp's Avatar
sjp sjp is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Llanidloes, Mid-Wales, UK
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: REQ: NVIDIA FX5200 Video card optimum settings

Quote:
Originally Posted by hugh750
I don't think the geforce fx 5200 is fast enough for gta san andreas and half life 2 because i have ran gta san andreas with a geforce fx 5700le and i must be getting at least 30-40 fps with it.
It must be ok since a mate of mine doesnt get the jerkyness i get?

Im sure its just down to tweeking of some type?

I know the card would be crap for full settings, I just want it to be smoother if possible?

Thanks though for yout post.
__________________
http://www.frozenuk.com/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-12-05, 06:50
sjp's Avatar
sjp sjp is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Llanidloes, Mid-Wales, UK
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: REQ: NVIDIA FX5200 Video card optimum settings

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerkyking
I can't speak of San Andreas but my 5200 plays HL2 fine. Never checked the FPS but I rarely get any lag (with NIS running). I have a 2.4Ghz P4 and a Gig of ram. "sjp", I won't be able to check the video settings till Friday, I'm sure they are mid to low settings but it works for me.
maybe i DO need a faster processor?

How do you check the FPS?

Cheers again mate!

SI.
__________________
http://www.frozenuk.com/
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 10-12-05, 16:16
~Pyrate~'s Avatar
~Pyrate~ ~Pyrate~ is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Slums of the Future
Posts: 1,570
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: REQ: NVIDIA FX5200 Video card optimum settings

You can use FRAPS to check your FPS, although I'm not sure it's compatible with all games as I haven't used it in a while.

I think the best thing to do,in your case, is set all the effects either off or low or performance, and then move them up a step one by one untill it's unplayable then move it back a step till it's playable. Also do that in the display properties. Make sure AA and AF are off(even my system has some trouble with those on.) And keep the resolution at 800x600.

There's a guide to tweaking half life HERE
__________________
Windows XP SP1, P4 2.8c, Abit IC7-G, PQI 2x512MB PC3200, ATI Radeon 9800 Pro, Turtle Beach Santa Cruz, Antec 480w, Razer Copperhead

"Thanks to Mr. Gates, we now know that an open Internet with protocols anyone can implement is communism; [after all,] it was set up by that famous communist [agency], the U.S. Department of Defense."
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-13-05, 02:25
sjp's Avatar
sjp sjp is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Llanidloes, Mid-Wales, UK
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: REQ: NVIDIA FX5200 Video card optimum settings

Quote:
Originally Posted by ~Pyrate~
You can use FRAPS to check your FPS, although I'm not sure it's compatible with all games as I haven't used it in a while.

I think the best thing to do,in your case, is set all the effects either off or low or performance, and then move them up a step one by one untill it's unplayable then move it back a step till it's playable. Also do that in the display properties. Make sure AA and AF are off(even my system has some trouble with those on.) And keep the resolution at 800x600.

There's a guide to tweaking half life HERE
Cheers mate!

Its great to finally get direct PC answers for once as i normally have to sit for hours either finding the answer myself or searching on Google!

I build PC's daily (custom & repair) so hope my experiences/PC skills will be useful to someone on this forum.

Glad i joined now...thanks to someone reccomending it on a music forum (bangingtunes.com). hope you dont mind the plug since it was there they plugged this forum

Thanks again!

Si.
__________________
http://www.frozenuk.com/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31.


MajorGeeks.Com Home Page
| Admin Tools | All In One | Anti-Spyware | Anti-Virus | Appearance | Backup | Benchmarking | BIOS | Browsers | Covert Ops |
Data Recovery | Diagnostics | Drive Cleaners | Drive Utilities | Drivers | Driver Tools Ergonomics | Firewalls | Games | Game Tweaks | Graphics | Input Devices | Internet Tools | Macintosh | Mail Utilities | Memory | Messaging | Monitoring | Microsoft | Multimedia | Networking | Office Tools | Process Management | Processor | Registry | Security | System Info | Toys | Video | Miscellaneous
|
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger