MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-27-05, 08:29
Shyster's Avatar
Shyster Shyster is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 51
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question I am stumped

Ok, I have a desktop running XP Pro SP2, and two laptops running XP Home SP2. The desktop has the cable internet connection through Comcast. I have a D-Link router which I connected the ethernet wire to my desktop into line 1 of the router, and connected another ethernet wire into the modem provided by Comcast into the WAN that is in back of the router. I turn on my desktop and can not connect to the internet? I ran the wireless network setup wizard and that did not help. I want my two laptops to share the desktop internet, but first I am trying to figure out why the desktop is not connecting. Can someone help me out, thanks.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 10-27-05, 09:16
fishkake fishkake is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Various Europe, currently Leicester UK
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: I am stumped

OK, OK, back up and calm down...

Forget the laptops. They don't exist. Not yet anyway. Now tell me about the desktop.

Do you have this:

PC --------- Ethernet modem ---------- ADSL socket / cable line

?

If so, you first need to configure your modem / router. After this you should be able to Share the connection on the desktop and all the laptops in the world can use its internet connection. Well, all the laptops on your network anyway.

Next, is this an Ethernet MODEM or an ethernet MODEM ROUTER? The difference is that with a modem, you can only connect one PC. This is fine for your needs, as long as the desktop is never switched off. If you have a Modem router, then you can plug your wireless routerinto the modem router and everybody can have access withottu a PC running.

Give me more info, horsemaster, and I shall give you mine.

...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-27-05, 09:31
Shyster's Avatar
Shyster Shyster is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 51
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: I am stumped

If I am understanding this correctly then yes my PC is connected to a ethernet cable modem.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-27-05, 09:50
Shyster's Avatar
Shyster Shyster is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 51
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: I am stumped

I have to go to work I will be back to figure this out,thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger