MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-01-05, 12:50
jak3y
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default setting up drives with ide cable

I want to learn how to do this properly...at least i think i got my rig set up right.
i have a dvd burner and 2 HD's 40gig and 200
I have the burner set to master
the 40gig hd (which is my c set as primasy slave
the other hd is set as just slave (secondary i think)
is this right?
if not, someone please tell me how to get it right...thanks : :
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 11-01-05, 13:03
~Pyrate~'s Avatar
~Pyrate~ ~Pyrate~ is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Slums of the Future
Posts: 1,570
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: setting up drives with ide cable

well.. normally you want the boot drive as primary master...but it shouldn't really matter so long as your BIOS can shake hands with the boot loader...if you are having problems it's best to set it that way
__________________
Windows XP SP1, P4 2.8c, Abit IC7-G, PQI 2x512MB PC3200, ATI Radeon 9800 Pro, Turtle Beach Santa Cruz, Antec 480w, Razer Copperhead

"Thanks to Mr. Gates, we now know that an open Internet with protocols anyone can implement is communism; [after all,] it was set up by that famous communist [agency], the U.S. Department of Defense."
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-01-05, 14:32
jak3y
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: setting up drives with ide cable

so am i understanding you in that the c: drive should be the first thing to boot up?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-01-05, 15:47
~Pyrate~'s Avatar
~Pyrate~ ~Pyrate~ is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Slums of the Future
Posts: 1,570
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: setting up drives with ide cable

Well, the C drive isn't always the boot drive. But normally it is, sounds like in your case it is the boot drive. There isn't anything that's really set in stone here. To make matters less confusing(and less likely to foul up) it is generally a good idea to have the drive with the C volume boot partition(that is the partition which windows is installed) physically located at primary/master.

But yes, normally you want the C drive as the first thing that boots up. Usually that's(primary/master) where the BIOS points when the POST is finished, unless otherwise specified as is the case if you are using SATA.
__________________
Windows XP SP1, P4 2.8c, Abit IC7-G, PQI 2x512MB PC3200, ATI Radeon 9800 Pro, Turtle Beach Santa Cruz, Antec 480w, Razer Copperhead

"Thanks to Mr. Gates, we now know that an open Internet with protocols anyone can implement is communism; [after all,] it was set up by that famous communist [agency], the U.S. Department of Defense."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger