MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Software
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Software Software such as operating systems like Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 etc., or specific programs.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-02-05, 18:47
ElGrecoLoco ElGrecoLoco is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Dell Checkpoint [ITHR] error

Hi

just replaced my father in law`s desktop with a dell dimension. It is running XP and everything went fine until I loaded up the BT Voyager 105 ADSL modem. Basically I got the above message on the re-boot after installing BT Openworld. Thing just refused to boot at all until I removed the USB connector for the cable modem. Once it had booted up, I re-connected the USB cable and hey presto, I got online. I don`t want to leave his pc on forever and he is an older gent who simply wouldn`t know how to get it going again from a power off position. Anyone come across this or recommend a solution - p.s. I don`t really want to have to deal with dell tech support! ::

Many thanks

Jim

p.s. I did try a search for this but came up blank so apologies if this is a repeat request.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 12-02-05, 20:21
Matacumbie's Avatar
Matacumbie Matacumbie is offline
Rocky Top
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 5,020
Thanks: 0
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default Re: Dell Checkpoint [ITHR] error

Hey Jim,

You might be better off contacting Dell Support. Seems they are familiar with the issue (Checkpoint [ITHR] error) and the cause ranges from the USB ports to motherboard. You can try using different USB slots, see if that makes a difference.

But, unless you get other suggestions here, I would notify Dell because it does seem to be a hardware problem.

Steve
__________________
PLEASE DO NOT PM ME WITH QUESTIONS REGARDING MARRIAGE RELATED ISSUES

Momma always said "be good".......but she's been wrong before.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-03-05, 02:09
ElGrecoLoco ElGrecoLoco is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Dell Checkpoint [ITHR] error

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matacumbie
Hey Jim,

You might be better off contacting Dell Support. Seems they are familiar with the issue (Checkpoint [ITHR] error) and the cause ranges from the USB ports to motherboard. You can try using different USB slots, see if that makes a difference.

But, unless you get other suggestions here, I would notify Dell because it does seem to be a hardware problem.

Steve
Hi Steve,

thanks for your note. Will have a go at mixing up the USB ports.

Jim
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 15:07.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger