MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-09-05, 16:03
comperroruter's Avatar
comperroruter comperroruter is offline
Darth Meatloaf
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limbo
Posts: 844
Thanks: 56
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default Create partition

O.K. When you buy a computer it comes with three partitions (usually). One for the utility stuff so that you can save your rear if you screw up royally. One for your operating system, and one for your CD Drive. I deleted all of these when I reformatted the first time. What I am wondering is, since my CD drive no longer has its own "space", does it use all of my hard drive to do the processes I ask it to do (for example, burn a disc)?

How can I set up a seperate partition for my CD Drive again?

My main issue is that when I put in a blank disc my hard drive starts working and it takes about 5 minutes until I can do anything because my system locks up. It is because the CD drive is reading so slow and does not know what to do with the blank CD. Any help is greatly appreciated!!!
__________________
In the end, there was a beginning.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 12-09-05, 16:15
mPK mPK is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 183
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Create partition

wtf are you talking about?

partition for the cd drive, i have never heard of this before.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-09-05, 16:16
chasezcw chasezcw is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 64
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thumbs up Re: Create partition

cd roms would not require a partition from the hard drive, now it will show in windows below the hard drive, maybe your confused. Any way i wouldn't worry about creating a partition for a cdrw's or dvdrw's. Unless you plan on giving a lot of space for ISO files.

Anyway, if your burning a cd your burning program may need space but it will take cache from somewhere like from the temp folder to operate.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-09-05, 16:30
comperroruter's Avatar
comperroruter comperroruter is offline
Darth Meatloaf
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limbo
Posts: 844
Thanks: 56
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default Re: Create partition

Quote:
Originally Posted by mPK
wtf are you talking about?

partition for the cd drive, i have never heard of this before.
If I knew that I would not have to ask anyone in here.

Because I have seen it in the Defrag window, but the post above yours cleared that up for me.

The problem I am having is that my drive does not want to format CD's. Dells award losing customer service has said that I am missing "stuff" because I reformatted and wiped all partitions from my drive. I cannot seem to find this "stuff" they are talking about so I am trying to determine another course of action to take. They tried to have me download some firmware updates, but I did not have the items on my drive that the updates were supposed to update....so that did not work. Of course all they do is what I do, scroll through tons of documentation hoping to stumble on the answer. I have a HL-DT-STRW/DVD GCC-4481B. Supposed to be 16x DVD, 48/32/48 CD, DVD-ROM/CD-RW.

I am hoping someone in here will have stumbled on it before and can enlighten me!
__________________
In the end, there was a beginning.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-09-05, 16:47
chasezcw chasezcw is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 64
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Create partition

didnt know this was a dell, anywho you may be calling them for a restoration disk for your model, or buy a replacement drive, something not dell.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 12-09-05, 16:48
Fertyop's Avatar
Fertyop Fertyop is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 207
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Cool Re: Create partition

Quote:
Originally Posted by comperroruter
Dell
Well there is your first problem buddy. Dell does something to their computers that make them screw up. Its like they send them to computer idiots first and then clean it up and sell it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-09-05, 16:52
Gecks's Avatar
Gecks Gecks is offline
Specialist
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New Scotland
Posts: 365
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: Create partition

Maybe Dell would have already done this with you, but have you gone to the dell website (www.support.dell.com) and downloaded the latest drivers for the drive? If you plug in the "service tag", and check under drivers and downloads, you should be able to find the specific drivers for you system.

If you haven't already, installing and Dell-brand burning software from the "application" CD might help as well.

9 times out of 10, if a problem happens after a format, it's a driver issue, at least IMHO.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-09-05, 18:38
Insomniac's Avatar
Insomniac Insomniac is offline
Billy Ray Cyrus #1 Fan
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia. Where else would you want to live?
Posts: 6,449
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Default Re: Create partition

Quote:
but have you gone to the dell website and downloaded the latest drivers for the drive? 9 times out of 10, if a problem happens after a format, it's a driver issue, at least IMHO.

This has nothing to do with drivers, and drivers aren't required for any optical device (CD/DVD drives)

Windows has native support, and has done since Windows 95b.

This means you just plug the drive in, and Windows does the rest and installs the necessary files.

There are no drivers to download or upgrade.


comperroruter, I don't understand your problem, but if you can post the exact symptoms and relevant information, then I'm sure someone can help.
__________________
Hairdresser to the Mods.

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level, then beat you with experience.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-10-05, 00:24
comperroruter's Avatar
comperroruter comperroruter is offline
Darth Meatloaf
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limbo
Posts: 844
Thanks: 56
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default Re: Create partition

Quote:
Originally Posted by Insomniac
This has nothing to do with drivers, and drivers aren't required for any optical device (CD/DVD drives)

Windows has native support, and has done since Windows 95b.

This means you just plug the drive in, and Windows does the rest and installs the necessary files.

There are no drivers to download or upgrade.


comperroruter, I don't understand your problem, but if you can post the exact symptoms and relevant information, then I'm sure someone can help.
Here we go:

First time I had the problem was after I reformatted my drive and deleted all of the partitions (before I knew any better). I did not try to burn anything for a while after this. About a month ago I decided that I was going to save all of my set-up files to CD in case I had to reformat again. I loaded Sonic into my computer using the disk provided my Dell. I opened Sonic and placed a blank CD-RW in the drive. My hard drive light came on and stayed on, which is what prompted me to ask the partition question. I was curious as to why it would be using the Hard Drive like that and not the CPU. CPU usage was minimal, but for some reason Sonic stopped responding and I had to shut it down through Task Manager. No problem, I will use another app. I downloaded CD Burner XP which is what I used when I first burned CD's. Same results that I had with Sonic. When this happens I have let it run up to 10 minutes and nothing would happen. Today I decided to take another whack at it. I used the built in burner (Roxio?) that comes with Windows. I found that I was able to right click on the drive in My Computer and select format. It asked for the CD, I placed the CD in the drive and clicked retry repeatedly until the pop-up went away(drive read disk). It took about 5 minutes, but it finally recognized the CD and asked if I wanted to Quick Format or normal. I selected Quick (for the sake of testing) and away we went. Once the bar filled it said 100% but kept on going, and going, and going.

Obviously Dell is not willing to admit that there may be a problem with their drive, but I am starting to believe that is the case because of the different ways it acts with regards to burning. I am not that good with the Hardware aspect, are there special components that allow a drive to burn CD's?

I appreciate your help.
__________________
In the end, there was a beginning.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-10-05, 15:34
Insomniac's Avatar
Insomniac Insomniac is offline
Billy Ray Cyrus #1 Fan
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia. Where else would you want to live?
Posts: 6,449
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Default Re: Create partition

Burning CD's isn't a science, more a black art, and lot's of things can go wrong.

The worst thing you can do is to install many different burning programs as they screw up the Registry (especially in XP's case)

XP already comes with a Direct CD plug in, which allows you to do packet writing.

Windows Media Player also comes with a Nero plug in, so if you install other burning programs, it can all conflict.


To answer your question "are there special components that allow a drive to burn CD's?"

That depends on the operating system. For XP, all you need is a drive correctly installed. (packet writing only)

If you want to do any more elaborate burning, then you must install a burning program.

For Windows 9x, you need an ASPI layer as well, and it doesn't come with any burning functions on it's own like XP.


Sorry to rattle on, but let's start at the beginning,

What is your operating system?

Is the drive displayed correctly with no errors in My Computer and Device Manager?

How is it hooked up? (For example, it's on the secondary controller as a slave with another DVD drive etc)

Has it ever worked in the past, and if so, when did it stop? (as in was it when you did or installed something?)
__________________
Hairdresser to the Mods.

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level, then beat you with experience.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #11  
Old 12-10-05, 16:42
comperroruter's Avatar
comperroruter comperroruter is offline
Darth Meatloaf
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limbo
Posts: 844
Thanks: 56
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default Re: Create partition

Quote:
Originally Posted by Insomniac
Burning CD's isn't a science, more a black art, and lot's of things can go wrong.

The worst thing you can do is to install many different burning programs as they screw up the Registry (especially in XP's case)

XP already comes with a Direct CD plug in, which allows you to do packet writing.

Windows Media Player also comes with a Nero plug in, so if you install other burning programs, it can all conflict.


To answer your question "are there special components that allow a drive to burn CD's?"

That depends on the operating system. For XP, all you need is a drive correctly installed. (packet writing only)

If you want to do any more elaborate burning, then you must install a burning program.

For Windows 9x, you need an ASPI layer as well, and it doesn't come with any burning functions on it's own like XP.


Sorry to rattle on, but let's start at the beginning,

What is your operating system?

Is the drive displayed correctly with no errors in My Computer and Device Manager?

How is it hooked up? (For example, it's on the secondary controller as a slave with another DVD drive etc)

Has it ever worked in the past, and if so, when did it stop? (as in was it when you did or installed something?)
I am using XP Pro, the drive is labeled correctly in My Computer and Device Manager (note, when I went to My Computer and right clicked on the D: drive icon my computer just now my hard drive light came on and is still running. It has been about 1 minute.) I am not sure what you mean about how is it hooked up, I received computer as it is now and have made no physical modifications except to add 512 Mb RAM. It worked when I first got the computer because I saved set-up files for a friend to use. It stopped working after I reformatted my hard drive.
__________________
In the end, there was a beginning.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-10-05, 16:49
Insomniac's Avatar
Insomniac Insomniac is offline
Billy Ray Cyrus #1 Fan
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia. Where else would you want to live?
Posts: 6,449
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Default Re: Create partition

"note, when I went to My Computer and right clicked on the D: drive icon my computer just now my hard drive light came on and is still running. It has been about 1 minute"


I doubt if it's related. Right-clicking only is a context menu and activates nothing.

As far as how it is hooked up, how many hard drives do you have, which controller are they on, how many CD/DVD drives do you have, which controller are they on, and do they all have the correct Master/Slave hierarchy?

If it worked previously and you haven't altered anything, then this shouldn't relevant.

Try deleting the drive from Device Manager, then reboot and let Windows do the rest.

If that fails, run the Nero Info Tool and post the log as an attachment here.
__________________
Hairdresser to the Mods.

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level, then beat you with experience.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-10-05, 16:51
comperroruter's Avatar
comperroruter comperroruter is offline
Darth Meatloaf
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limbo
Posts: 844
Thanks: 56
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default Re: Create partition

Quick note, when I right click on the drive while there is a blank unformatted CD in it my hard drive light comes on but nothing else happens (hourglass figure). When I close My Computer the taskbar disappears momentarily and my hard drive light stays on for about 5 minutes after that. The CPU is not being used by anything at this time. Why would my hard drive light be solid for so long? Is it possible that the drive is looking for something and is having trouble finding?
__________________
In the end, there was a beginning.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-10-05, 16:53
Insomniac's Avatar
Insomniac Insomniac is offline
Billy Ray Cyrus #1 Fan
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia. Where else would you want to live?
Posts: 6,449
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Default Re: Create partition

Right-clicking alone is a context menu and activates nothing.

Do you mean right-clicking, then left clicking on something else?

You are starting to lose me, so you need to be precise as I don't have your PC in front of me.
__________________
Hairdresser to the Mods.

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level, then beat you with experience.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-10-05, 17:10
comperroruter's Avatar
comperroruter comperroruter is offline
Darth Meatloaf
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limbo
Posts: 844
Thanks: 56
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default Re: Create partition

I mean that right clicking on the drive icon in My Computer, while there is a blank disk in the drive, causes my system to lock up. For example, just now I had My Computer open and sitting in the task bar. I placed a blank CD into my disk drive to recreate the problem so that I could be precise in my description. My disc drive lights came on, it wound up (the initial whirring sound) then nothing. I tried to close My Computer and my system froze. After one minute it unfroze. I closed My Computer in the Task Manager because it stopped responding. I did not have a task bar the entire time I typed this. It just came back now. This is the same type of thing that is happening when I try to access the context menu on my drive. When I have any other type of CD in it shows me the context menu. With a blank disc it does not show me the context menu and My Documents stops responding. I am not sure how else I can describe this problem to you. I appreciate your patience.
__________________
In the end, there was a beginning.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #16  
Old 12-10-05, 17:12
comperroruter's Avatar
comperroruter comperroruter is offline
Darth Meatloaf
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limbo
Posts: 844
Thanks: 56
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default Re: Create partition

Where do I find the Nero Info Tool? I uninstalled it and restarted. I am still having the same problem.
__________________
In the end, there was a beginning.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-10-05, 17:28
Insomniac's Avatar
Insomniac Insomniac is offline
Billy Ray Cyrus #1 Fan
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia. Where else would you want to live?
Posts: 6,449
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Default Re: Create partition

The Nero Info Tool is included as part of the Nero ToolKit.

You can run it and save a log, then post the log as an attachment.

If you don't have it, we do HERE.
__________________
Hairdresser to the Mods.

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level, then beat you with experience.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-10-05, 17:33
comperroruter's Avatar
comperroruter comperroruter is offline
Darth Meatloaf
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limbo
Posts: 844
Thanks: 56
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default Re: Create partition

Here is the Nero Log.
Attached Files
File Type: txt InfoTool.txt (35.4 KB, 5 views)
__________________
In the end, there was a beginning.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-10-05, 17:46
comperroruter's Avatar
comperroruter comperroruter is offline
Darth Meatloaf
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limbo
Posts: 844
Thanks: 56
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default Re: Create partition

Sorry Insomniac. I had a blank disc in the drive with that log. Here is a fresh one with nothing in the drive.
Attached Files
File Type: txt InfoTool.txt (35.3 KB, 1 views)
__________________
In the end, there was a beginning.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-10-05, 18:06
comperroruter's Avatar
comperroruter comperroruter is offline
Darth Meatloaf
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limbo
Posts: 844
Thanks: 56
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default Re: Create partition

Quote:
Originally Posted by Insomniac
"

As far as how it is hooked up, how many hard drives do you have, which controller are they on, how many CD/DVD drives do you have, which controller are they on, and do they all have the correct Master/Slave hierarchy?
I have one hard drive, I am not sure how to determine what controller it is on.

I have one CD/DVD drive, I am not sure how to determine what controller it is on.
__________________
In the end, there was a beginning.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger