MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-10-05, 15:30
MG_Nut MG_Nut is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Londoner in Brasil
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Angry So simple, but I'm stumped!

Got a router, new workstation, old laptop, and another workstation. All cabled on a workgroup. All pc's can see the internet, no problem. but the old laptop cannot see any network. !! It cannot even see itself in its own workgroup, no matter what I name the workgroup!! : Yet the other 2 workstations can see each other no matter what I rename the workgroup to.

I've missed something on this laptop, I dunno what and it's drivin me NUTS! I've been on this for like 2 hours now.

The laptop is on XP Pro with NO service pack, that's not going to matter right? It's Also using Norton Antivirus 2003, which just drives me nuts anyway, is there somethign in there that I missed? :

Please help. Any suggestions welcome please.
Thanks in advance.
N.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 12-10-05, 17:04
mPK mPK is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 183
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: So simple, but I'm stumped!

have you enabled file sharing? lol simple but may help...

if you goto start > run > type in \\xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx and press enter where (xxx.... is another computer on the workgroups ip) what happens?

is your network driver installed properly?
any conflicts in device manager?

can you ping the other computers from the laptop? can you ping the laptop from the other computers?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-10-05, 18:00
_dinsdale_ _dinsdale_ is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sydney. Australia
Posts: 242
Thanks: 25
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default Re: So simple, but I'm stumped!

Can the other two machines see the laptop?

Also make sure that the XP firewall service is disabled on all machines,
and the Norton firewall services are disabled. Your router shoud be providing you with the firewall you need.

dins
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-10-05, 20:08
cat5e cat5e is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,614
Thanks: 0
Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
Default Re: So simple, but I'm stumped!

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dinsdale_
Your router shoud be providing you with the firewall you need.
This simply Not True.

Why? see here, http://www.ezlan.net/firewall.html

May be this can Help, http://www.ezlan.net/sharing.html

__________________
Jack (MS, MVP-Networking).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 19:15.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger