MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Software
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Software Software such as operating systems like Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 etc., or specific programs.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-30-05, 15:04
Britany Britany is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Can I load XP Professional on top of Windows 2000 Professional?

I just bought a refurbished Dell Latitude C600 that came loaded with Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional.
I want to load my Microsoft Windows XP Professional in my new laptop.
Can I just load my Microsoft Windows XP Professional on top of it?
Thank You,
Britany

HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 12-30-05, 15:18
Adrynalyne's Avatar
Adrynalyne Adrynalyne is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: On the Internet
Posts: 18,992
Thanks: 505
Thanked 1,085 Times in 731 Posts
Default Re: Can I load XP Professional on top of Windows 2000 Professional?

Its a supported upgrade path, if thats what you are asking
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-30-05, 17:22
General Disarray's Avatar
General Disarray General Disarray is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: Can I load XP Professional on top of Windows 2000 Professional?

However, if you've loaded your XP on a different computer, you won' tbe able to activate it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-30-05, 21:54
Britany Britany is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Can I load XP Professional on top of Windows 2000 Professional?

Dear: Adrynalyne and General Disaarray.
Thank You for your replys.
I coiuld tell by your replys that you both are indeed very well versed in computer lingo, unfortunately I am not.
I was hoping for a simple yes or no answer.
Can I load XP Professional on top of Windows 2000 Professional?
Thank You both and have a Happy New Year!
Britany
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-30-05, 22:00
bjgarrick's Avatar
bjgarrick bjgarrick is offline
MajorGeeks Admin - Malware Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Southern Alabama
Posts: 16,069
Thanks: 0
Thanked 224 Times in 221 Posts
Default Re: Can I load XP Professional on top of Windows 2000 Professional?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Britany
Can I load XP Professional on top of Windows 2000 Professional?
Yes, you can!

I must add, it needs to be the WinXP Pro Upgrade disc with a valid license key that hasn't been activated.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 12-30-05, 22:40
Britany Britany is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Can I load XP Professional on top of Windows 2000 Professional?

Big thanks on your speedy reply bygarrick!
What I have is an upgrade version of XP Pro with a valid license, although I had loaded it into my desk top before.
Will this not load if I had loaded it before?

Thanks,
Britany
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-30-05, 22:43
Adrynalyne's Avatar
Adrynalyne Adrynalyne is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: On the Internet
Posts: 18,992
Thanks: 505
Thanked 1,085 Times in 731 Posts
Default Re: Can I load XP Professional on top of Windows 2000 Professional?

It will load, but will not activate if you have it on another computer. If its only to be installed on the laptop, you can call in the activation, if it gives you trouble.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-30-05, 22:54
Britany Britany is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Can I load XP Professional on top of Windows 2000 Professional?

There you go again Adrynalyne!
"you can call it in", how do I call, and what doi I say?
I'm sorry I don't understand?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-30-05, 23:04
Adrynalyne's Avatar
Adrynalyne Adrynalyne is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: On the Internet
Posts: 18,992
Thanks: 505
Thanked 1,085 Times in 731 Posts
Default Re: Can I load XP Professional on top of Windows 2000 Professional?

Call. Telephone.

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-30-05, 23:06
Adrynalyne's Avatar
Adrynalyne Adrynalyne is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: On the Internet
Posts: 18,992
Thanks: 505
Thanked 1,085 Times in 731 Posts
Default Re: Can I load XP Professional on top of Windows 2000 Professional?

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/e...ctivation.mspx
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #11  
Old 12-30-05, 23:12
bjgarrick's Avatar
bjgarrick bjgarrick is offline
MajorGeeks Admin - Malware Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Southern Alabama
Posts: 16,069
Thanks: 0
Thanked 224 Times in 221 Posts
Default Re: Can I load XP Professional on top of Windows 2000 Professional?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Britany
There you go again Adrynalyne!
"you can call it in", how do I call, and what doi I say?
I'm sorry I don't understand?
This is IF you have activation problems. If after you upgrade to Windows XP Professional it ask you to activate and it says it cannot activate because the product key has already been activated too many times.

IF it says that, then choose to activate by Phone, call this number (if in the USA) 1-888-571-2048 and then follow the instructions. It will be automated, if it still cant activate then a Microsoft Rep. will come on the phone and ask you for the installation ID, give this to them and they will give you the activation number.

Simple as that!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-30-05, 23:14
Britany Britany is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Can I load XP Professional on top of Windows 2000 Professional?

Of course:
http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/e...ctivation.mspx
Call Microsoft...
I think I got it now
Have a very good New Year Adrynalyne

Britany
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-30-05, 23:19
bjgarrick's Avatar
bjgarrick bjgarrick is offline
MajorGeeks Admin - Malware Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Southern Alabama
Posts: 16,069
Thanks: 0
Thanked 224 Times in 221 Posts
Default Re: Can I load XP Professional on top of Windows 2000 Professional?

Britany,

May I say something without you taking it the wrong way?

We can read smaller fonts. !!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-30-05, 23:25
Britany Britany is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Can I load XP Professional on top of Windows 2000 Professional?

How can I get one of those cute images next to my name?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-31-05, 00:55
bjgarrick's Avatar
bjgarrick bjgarrick is offline
MajorGeeks Admin - Malware Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Southern Alabama
Posts: 16,069
Thanks: 0
Thanked 224 Times in 221 Posts
Default Re: Can I load XP Professional on top of Windows 2000 Professional?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Britany
How can I get one of those cute images next to my name?
!!!!

Click on "User CP" in the top left corner, and then click on "Edit Avatar" on the left side.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #16  
Old 12-31-05, 14:36
Insomniac's Avatar
Insomniac Insomniac is offline
Billy Ray Cyrus #1 Fan
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia. Where else would you want to live?
Posts: 6,449
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Default Re: Can I load XP Professional on top of Windows 2000 Professional?

What did you say bjgarrick, I can't read your font?
__________________
Hairdresser to the Mods.

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level, then beat you with experience.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-31-05, 19:31
bjgarrick's Avatar
bjgarrick bjgarrick is offline
MajorGeeks Admin - Malware Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Southern Alabama
Posts: 16,069
Thanks: 0
Thanked 224 Times in 221 Posts
Default Re: Can I load XP Professional on top of Windows 2000 Professional?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Insomniac
What did you say bjgarrick, I can't read your font?
!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger