MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Software
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Software Software such as operating systems like Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 etc., or specific programs.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-09-06, 16:33
neilshep's Avatar
neilshep neilshep is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Best spec for World of Warcraft

I've put together a new machine for games,particularly WoW. Asus A8N-E, Athlon 64 3200+ overclocked from 2.0 to 2.4GHz 2x 512mb Corsair value RAM, 200GB SATA hard disc, ATI Radeon X700 128Mb graphics, QTechnology 460W PSU.

I've heard that WoW needs lots of RAM, but does anyone know for certain what would improve frame rates? More RAM or a better graphics card?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 01-09-06, 17:41
Fertyop's Avatar
Fertyop Fertyop is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 207
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: Best spec for World of Warcraft

You have 1gb, that is enough. Upgrade your graphics card next.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-09-06, 19:46
splitt3r's Avatar
splitt3r splitt3r is offline
You are now the victim of a drive by title change
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Albany OR
Posts: 808
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Best spec for World of Warcraft

I get 50-80 FPS on my machine, but it occasionally drops to 20-30 and it lags bad in org. this is on relatively high settigns at 1280x1024
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-09-06, 21:40
sleepygamer213's Avatar
sleepygamer213 sleepygamer213 is offline
Sergeant Major
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: In ur fridge, eatin ur FOODz!
Posts: 787
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default Re: Best spec for World of Warcraft

check my specs... I get PERFECTLY smooth play with all settings on high (save for AA filtering)
__________________
My Setup:
ASUS A8N-E
1GB (512x2) PC3200 DDR400 RAM Corsair
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Venice (Skt 939)
ASUS CD-ROM
Lightscribe DVD-RW
WesternDigital 250GB HDD 8MB Cache x2
Powercolor X850PRO 256MB GDDR3 PCIe (flashed bios from the X800GT)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-10-06, 12:34
neilshep's Avatar
neilshep neilshep is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Best spec for World of Warcraft

Quote:
Originally Posted by sleepygamer213
check my specs... I get PERFECTLY smooth play with all settings on high (save for AA filtering)
Hmmm, very similar to mine, except for the graphics card. I guess i'll have to start saving pennies in the piggy bank. BTW, I run 1280 x 1024 and generally get 35 - 40fps, but Ironforge in happy hour knocks it right down to 10fps or so. I've got 2mbit/s cable, so I assume thats not a limitation, as 56kbit/s modem is minimum required.

One thing I did do was hang a second monitor off the vga port and run windoze task manager whilst gaming. CPU usage was maxed out at 100%!!!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 01-11-06, 11:18
Insomniac's Avatar
Insomniac Insomniac is offline
Billy Ray Cyrus #1 Fan
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia. Where else would you want to live?
Posts: 6,449
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Default Re: Best spec for World of Warcraft

WOW isn't that demanding. It should easily run fine with your current specs.

What is the problem exactly?
__________________
Hairdresser to the Mods.

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level, then beat you with experience.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-11-06, 14:13
neilshep's Avatar
neilshep neilshep is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Best spec for World of Warcraft

Quote:
Originally Posted by Insomniac
WOW isn't that demanding. It should easily run fine with your current specs.

What is the problem exactly?
Well, at the moment the server is offline..................

Seriously, minimum frame rate of 20fps would be nice, at the moment it can drop to single figures
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-11-06, 15:36
Insomniac's Avatar
Insomniac Insomniac is offline
Billy Ray Cyrus #1 Fan
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia. Where else would you want to live?
Posts: 6,449
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Default Re: Best spec for World of Warcraft

It really should run OK with your specs.

Is it just WOW, and what have you tried?


When it was first released, it had a lot of bugs. Most have been ironed out, but there is still an issue of lagging with some (most) servers.
__________________
Hairdresser to the Mods.

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level, then beat you with experience.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-12-06, 21:33
jedandjess's Avatar
jedandjess jedandjess is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Northern UK
Posts: 177
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Best spec for World of Warcraft

X700 or X700pro? The difference is pretty big. Still a mid range card though, get that new 800gto thing, theyre cheap and supposed to be dogs knackers.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-13-06, 12:10
neilshep's Avatar
neilshep neilshep is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Best spec for World of Warcraft

Quote:
Originally Posted by jedandjess
X700 or X700pro? The difference is pretty big. Still a mid range card though, get that new 800gto thing, theyre cheap and supposed to be dogs knackers.
Its an Asus card X700LE chip?

http://uk.asus.com/products4.aspx?l1...55&modelmenu=1
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #11  
Old 01-14-06, 06:52
jedandjess's Avatar
jedandjess jedandjess is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Northern UK
Posts: 177
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Best spec for World of Warcraft

Yep the LE's just don't have the grunt. Neither really do the vanilla 700's. The pro version is way better, but if you get a new card you might as well spend the extra 10-20 and the the 800gto. It's a passively cooled card as well so quiet as a mouse.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-14-06, 13:43
Insomniac's Avatar
Insomniac Insomniac is offline
Billy Ray Cyrus #1 Fan
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia. Where else would you want to live?
Posts: 6,449
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Default Re: Best spec for World of Warcraft

Your card should be able to play it.

It's probably your internet connection.
__________________
Hairdresser to the Mods.

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level, then beat you with experience.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24.


MajorGeeks.Com Home Page
| Admin Tools | All In One | Anti-Spyware | Anti-Virus | Appearance | Backup | Benchmarking | BIOS | Browsers | Covert Ops |
Data Recovery | Diagnostics | Drive Cleaners | Drive Utilities | Drivers | Driver Tools Ergonomics | Firewalls | Games | Game Tweaks | Graphics | Input Devices | Internet Tools | Macintosh | Mail Utilities | Memory | Messaging | Monitoring | Microsoft | Multimedia | Networking | Office Tools | Process Management | Processor | Registry | Security | System Info | Toys | Video | Miscellaneous
|
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger