MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-21-06, 17:58
Copasta Copasta is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 175
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Motherboard won't POST, fans run, etc.

Recently, I purchased a lot of 4 motherboards on ebay, as I always wanted to build my own pc. I figured I would start with something cheap on ebay being that I don't know a whole lot about computers. Anyway, supposedly at least two of the mb's worked, the other two were untested.

Long story short...I have hooked up all four mobo's (at different times in the same case), and so far I've gotten these results: two of the boards I've gotten nothing....no power, nothing. However, two of the boards power up and act like everything is running ok (lights come on, fans work fine, HDD seems to be running, etc.). The problem is that nothing shows up on the monitor screen. No POST, no BIOS info, nothing! I have since tried another MoBo that I had from a previous computer, and everything works fine in that, so the PSU seems to be working ok, although I think that it is only 235W, which I know is terribly underpowered, but as old as these board are, I figured it would be alright to at least get them booted up.

The motherboard that I currently have hooked up is this:

ABIT VA-10
VIA VT8235
Pheonix BIOS
AMD Athlon XP 1700


Any suggestions on what could be wrong? Do you think the MoBo's are bad, or am I missing something? Thanks for any input!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 01-21-06, 19:44
taz55 taz55 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Motherboard won't POST, fans run, etc.

you could flash the bios maybe. make sure all the jumpers are set right. make sure the cpu and ram are compatible. oh and check and make sure none of the capasiters are bubled up at the top. if they are the board is trash.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-22-06, 08:19
Copasta Copasta is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 175
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Motherboard won't POST, fans run, etc.

Thanks Taz,
I'm not quite sure how to flash the BIOS. I think that the jumpers are all correct...at least the CMOS one is correct, the others, I'm not sure where they go, but I haven't changed any of them since I got the board, so they should be right. Checked the RAM, it is compatible. As for the CPU, the board recommends 333 mHz bus speed while the processor I'm using is only 266mHz. Could this be the problem? It works in another board, that I thought was as old as this one, but maybe not. I'll check the specs on the other board. Thanks again for the help. BTW, all the capacitors look good on all the boards...none leaking.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-22-06, 08:21
Runner789 Runner789 is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 64
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Motherboard won't POST, fans run, etc.

I assume you are trying to start with barebones stuff. Just ram/ PS/ CPU. That should at least get you POST as you know. 235w will get it going. I have 95w on my bench.
Otherwise you probably have bad boards.
Trying to build with questionable stuff will be difficult, but I understand why.
The mention of the blown caps is a good thought. Check here for info http://news.com.com/2300-1041-5940552.html.

Good luck. Keep us informed. We are here to help.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-22-06, 09:01
splitt3r's Avatar
splitt3r splitt3r is offline
You are now the victim of a drive by title change
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Albany OR
Posts: 808
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Motherboard won't POST, fans run, etc.

The only time I have seen caps do that is when I hooked them up to 18v to make them explode
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 01-22-06, 13:19
taz55 taz55 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Motherboard won't POST, fans run, etc.

even if the caps arent blown the board could still be bad. either you or someone else could of had some esd and blown it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-23-06, 07:41
Copasta Copasta is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 175
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Motherboard won't POST, fans run, etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by taz55
even if the caps arent blown the board could still be bad. either you or someone else could of had some esd and blown it.
Would the board still power up like it was running, or would there be nothing at all? It seems like everything works but it won't post.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-23-06, 10:02
ACE 256's Avatar
ACE 256 ACE 256 is offline
MajorGeeks Forum Administrator - Overclocking Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: 3915'58"N, 8132'32"W
Posts: 1,971
Thanks: 2
Thanked 32 Times in 22 Posts
Default Re: Motherboard won't POST, fans run, etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by splitt3r
The only time I have seen caps do that is when I hooked them up to 18v to make them explode
You too hey ? I used a cap out of a PSU and i used 24V @ 4 amps POOF! stinky smoke grenade :D.......Iv repaired countless mobos with swollen / blown caps..... normaly thay boot and run ok but thare just unstable.....iv seen mobos run and make it into windows when thare 4 or more caps blown / swollen....If its simply not booting its eather your CPU, RAM, or the video card....and posably the mobo .... Are thare any beep codes ??
__________________
" I don't care about what anything was DESIGNED to do, I care about what it CAN do. " - Gene Kranz
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-23-06, 10:17
splitt3r's Avatar
splitt3r splitt3r is offline
You are now the victim of a drive by title change
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Albany OR
Posts: 808
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Motherboard won't POST, fans run, etc.

ahh man,I shouldn't have thrown away the 125w psu from my old HP pavillion. I would like to see how one of those massive caps would explode:D I guess it didn't occur to me then, "hey I can rip that giant cap out of this 10 year old computer and try to make it explode" The cap I exploded was justa little one.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-23-06, 10:41
ACE 256's Avatar
ACE 256 ACE 256 is offline
MajorGeeks Forum Administrator - Overclocking Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: 3915'58"N, 8132'32"W
Posts: 1,971
Thanks: 2
Thanked 32 Times in 22 Posts
Default Re: Motherboard won't POST, fans run, etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ACE 256
You too hey ? I used a cap out of a PSU and i used 24V @ 4 amps POOF! stinky smoke grenade :D.......
typo make that 40 amps :D ....
__________________
" I don't care about what anything was DESIGNED to do, I care about what it CAN do. " - Gene Kranz
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #11  
Old 01-23-06, 12:19
thesunscreen's Avatar
thesunscreen thesunscreen is offline
Specialist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 321
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: Motherboard won't POST, fans run, etc.

Exploding Caps not withstanding (sounds like fun I'll have to try it some day)

Try the mobo with no ram, listen for a beep code if it still dosn't beep its the cpu or the Mobo. you need to know the specs and can't go by if the cpu looks as old as the board, anything could be diffrerent. the fsb could be wrong. I learned the hard way black celerons arn't upgradeable to PIII's but green ones are. Your best bet to build a computer is to do lots of reading, and grab someones throwaway system, pIII's and and AMD k models are everywhere now people are giving them away. Every one has a friend who got a new computer, and now has to get rid of the old one. Plus those are good for overclocking. to paraphrase a famous quote from some site "clock it till it burns, then find another one and don't go that fasr next time"


Good luck
__________________
Don't tell me to update my drivers, or do a spyware sweep. I have already done it.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-23-06, 16:24
ACE 256's Avatar
ACE 256 ACE 256 is offline
MajorGeeks Forum Administrator - Overclocking Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: 3915'58"N, 8132'32"W
Posts: 1,971
Thanks: 2
Thanked 32 Times in 22 Posts
Default Re: Motherboard won't POST, fans run, etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thesunscreen
Plus those are good for overclocking. to paraphrase a famous quote from some site "clock it till it burns, then find another one and don't go that fasr next time"


Good luck
Try to find a K6-2+ ( 128L2) or a K6-3+ ( 256L2) thare great overclockers i ran my K6-2+ 450 @ 900 for a long time before it died...to bad thare so hard to find ::...
__________________
" I don't care about what anything was DESIGNED to do, I care about what it CAN do. " - Gene Kranz
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-23-06, 16:35
Rikky's Avatar
Rikky Rikky is offline
Wile E. Coyote - One of a kind
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Thin line between the ideological and the pragmatic
Posts: 10,180
Thanks: 575
Thanked 746 Times in 645 Posts
Default Re: Motherboard won't POST, fans run, etc.

Have you tried resetting the cmos jumper or removing the battery :
__________________
"No one panics when things go according to plan, even when the plan is horrifying." The Joker
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-24-06, 18:23
Copasta Copasta is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 175
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Motherboard won't POST, fans run, etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rikky
Have you tried resetting the cmos jumper or removing the battery :
I tried both of these as stated earlier. I think that either the board is dead, or the cpu is not compatable with it.....the board calls for 333mHz, and the processor is set at 266mHz. I have another one ordered that is 333, so if it ever gets here, I can try it! Thanks for the help!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-24-06, 20:02
Copasta Copasta is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 175
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Motherboard won't POST, fans run, etc.

Also want to mention that I don't get any beeps on bootup, but that is probably due to the fact that the internal speaker wires are burned through and, I would guess, not working!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #16  
Old 01-25-06, 00:59
splitt3r's Avatar
splitt3r splitt3r is offline
You are now the victim of a drive by title change
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Albany OR
Posts: 808
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Motherboard won't POST, fans run, etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ACE 256
typo make that 40 amps :D ....
40 amps? damn where did you get 40 amps, a wall outlet in my house can only handle 15A.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-26-06, 14:28
Rikky's Avatar
Rikky Rikky is offline
Wile E. Coyote - One of a kind
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Thin line between the ideological and the pragmatic
Posts: 10,180
Thanks: 575
Thanked 746 Times in 645 Posts
Default Re: Motherboard won't POST, fans run, etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by splitt3r
40 amps? damn where did you get 40 amps, a wall outlet in my house can only handle 15A.
The amount of amps is relative to the voltage,high AC voltage 110v low amps 15a - great for sending electricity all around your neighbourhood,high DC amps 40a and low voltage 3v - great for sending electricity short distances inside your PC

http://science.howstuffworks.com/question501.htm

__________________
"No one panics when things go according to plan, even when the plan is horrifying." The Joker
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-26-06, 18:01
firetiger firetiger is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Motherboard won't POST, fans run, etc.

do they beep????
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger