MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-17-06, 12:17
jyo_ps jyo_ps is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy 2nd RAM not detected

i bought a new 128 MB DDR RAM to upgrade my 3 year old P4 1.6 MHz 128 MB DDR..intel 845 BG motherboard. which has 2 slots for RAM (one was not occupied for 3 years). I installed it in the slot and it worked fine for a day ( 256 MB detected ) then suddenly BIOS came on when i switched on the comp and then only 128 MB was shown as installed and the second memory bank was shown as not installed..i tried all possible permutations of putting old ram in unused slot and new ram in used slot, putting only one RAM at a time etc etc..tried cleaning slots..etc ?

can anyone help me out ...plz

what can be the problem ..is it hardware conflict because there is a 3 year age difference b/w the RAMs
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 02-17-06, 14:29
bigbazza's Avatar
bigbazza bigbazza is offline
R.I.P. 14/12/2011 - Good Onya Geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cairns,Far North Qld,Australia
Posts: 10,768
Thanks: 891
Thanked 331 Times in 293 Posts
Default Re: 2nd RAM not detected

Had a similar problem with a friends old pc. They bought a 256mb stick and put it in the second slot. It would register in the RAM check on bootup but not otherwise. It would not register at all in the first slot.
Try Everest Home Edition. www.majorgeeks.com/download.php?det=4181 for all the details of RAM inside your PC, particularly your original 128mb stick. Your new RAM may be defective, or not compatible with the original 128mb stick

When you run EVEREST, Click on "Computer" icon, then on "Summary", then on "Report" (at top menu), then on "Quick Report Summary", down to "Plain text". Save it to a file, as whatever name you like, (maybe PCddmmyy--with ddmmyy being the current date). Then it can be posted for all to see.
Bazza

===

Quote:
Originally Posted by jyo_ps
i bought a new 128 MB DDR RAM to upgrade my 3 year old P4 1.6 MHz 128 MB DDR..intel 845 BG motherboard. which has 2 slots for RAM (one was not occupied for 3 years). I installed it in the slot and it worked fine for a day ( 256 MB detected ) then suddenly BIOS came on when i switched on the comp and then only 128 MB was shown as installed and the second memory bank was shown as not installed..i tried all possible permutations of putting old ram in unused slot and new ram in used slot, putting only one RAM at a time etc etc..tried cleaning slots..etc ?

can anyone help me out ...plz

what can be the problem ..is it hardware conflict because there is a 3 year age difference b/w the RAMs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-17-06, 14:50
Ayanla Ayanla is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 74
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: 2nd RAM not detected

Well according to your motherboard manual, found online here: http://premioinc.com/pc/manuals/mb/845BG/845bg.pdf , the ram it supports is:

DDR 200 or DDR 266, which is in the PC2100 range if I recall correctly. My guess is you went with something faster and your mobo isn't liking it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-17-06, 18:14
Bambo Bambo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 117
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: 2nd RAM not detected

May be those 2 modules dont like each other that much, as in they will never work on same computer, but it will not help if you have timings set to Auto/SPD. If modules are not identical then which will decide what timing will be active and will no. 2 agree? So try force timing, one that will work for both modules.

Why it worked at first I dont know - but the timing thing definitely can give these problems and as Ayanla said they probably dont share preferences/pre-programmed timings which bios reads when set to Auto/SPD.

See manual 4.2.1 Chose "User defined" and see what is in there.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-18-06, 03:07
jyo_ps jyo_ps is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: 2nd RAM not detected

ayanla
the new ram i bought is DDR 266..i dont know about the old one

Bambo
how do i force timing ? i dont have any idea
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 02-18-06, 03:56
Bambo Bambo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 117
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: 2nd RAM not detected

Well look in manual and see what is in that "User" menu

User Defined allows setting memory control and video memory cache mode. If selected here, will also display in the Advanced Menu as: “Extended Menu: Used.”

You dont necessarily have to force anything but should confirm those 2 modules both can work at active timing - which will be set by bios/you. Normally Auto/SPD is safest cause matches what ram is rated to but bios can only read from 1 module, the first detected probably. So if module no. 2 requires other timing there will be problems. Can show itself as a module not detected. Can also be the case if modules use same timings but have incompatible chips, cant combine just any ram. Can be tricky and hard to diagnose. Same with voltage, 1 module may be runs best at 2.5v and the other 2.7 - doubt that will be problem but possible.

Might be a good ide to use Memtest86 - very easy but much to say about it http://www.houseofhelp.com/forums/sh...ad.php?t=38201 all you have to do is make a bootfloppy or cd following instructions. Boot from floppy and it will autostart. Then you should see timings on screen and at least know what is active should bios be lacking information. I dont know what is in there, may be you cant change much. If something is very wrong (many ram-errors) you should not boot OS. There should not be any errors at all. When/if you get the 2 modules to work let Memtest86 run for some hours.

Just looking at modules should give some info on timings, brand. May be even recommended voltage is mentioned.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-18-06, 07:03
hugh750's Avatar
hugh750 hugh750 is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Alabama (USA)
Posts: 1,032
Thanks: 10
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
Default Re: 2nd RAM not detected

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bambo
Well look in manual and see what is in that "User" menu

User Defined allows setting memory control and video memory cache mode. If selected here, will also display in the Advanced Menu as: “Extended Menu: Used.”

You dont necessarily have to force anything but should confirm those 2 modules both can work at active timing - which will be set by bios/you. Normally Auto/SPD is safest cause matches what ram is rated to but bios can only read from 1 module, the first detected probably. So if module no. 2 requires other timing there will be problems. Can show itself as a module not detected. Can also be the case if modules use same timings but have incompatible chips, cant combine just any ram. Can be tricky and hard to diagnose. Same with voltage, 1 module may be runs best at 2.5v and the other 2.7 - doubt that will be problem but possible.

Might be a good ide to use Memtest86 - very easy but much to say about it http://www.houseofhelp.com/forums/sh...ad.php?t=38201 all you have to do is make a bootfloppy or cd following instructions. Boot from floppy and it will autostart. Then you should see timings on screen and at least know what is active should bios be lacking information. I dont know what is in there, may be you cant change much. If something is very wrong (many ram-errors) you should not boot OS. There should not be any errors at all. When/if you get the 2 modules to work let Memtest86 run for some hours.

Just looking at modules should give some info on timings, brand. May be even recommended voltage is mentioned.
Thank you for mentioning memtest86 otherwise i wouldn't found out that one of my memory sticks was bad, now i only have one in my machine 512 megs and it seems to be running faster!
Even gta san andreas seems to be runnging better as well, i was getting some weird errors and lockups lately anyways, a bad memory stick may have been the reason.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-18-06, 14:25
bigbazza's Avatar
bigbazza bigbazza is offline
R.I.P. 14/12/2011 - Good Onya Geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cairns,Far North Qld,Australia
Posts: 10,768
Thanks: 891
Thanked 331 Times in 293 Posts
Default Re: 2nd RAM not detected

There is now memtest86+ available from http://www.memtest.org/ if anyone is interested. including USB stick and floppy versions. Bazza
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-20-06, 07:20
jyo_ps jyo_ps is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: 2nd RAM not detected

Bambo , if it is a question of mismatch of RAM timing then what will be the solution will i to ditch one RAM ?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-20-06, 07:59
Bambo Bambo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 117
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: 2nd RAM not detected

Yes, you will need to make Memtest86 happy through bios changes if those 2 modules wont work together out of the box. Just making them boot would be nice but remember to test as well. I have killed OS registry files a few times thanks to stupid bios and myself - there were no problems booting...

May be also an idea to clear cmos if bios editing dont help - sometimes bios needs that. Look it manual for how it is done. When you do that all values, including your edits, will be cleared and you have to re-edit everything. Best to load "optimized defaults" or simular - then take it from there, go through/check all settings.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09.


MajorGeeks.Com Home Page
| Admin Tools | All In One | Anti-Spyware | Anti-Virus | Appearance | Backup | Benchmarking | BIOS | Browsers | Covert Ops |
Data Recovery | Diagnostics | Drive Cleaners | Drive Utilities | Drivers | Driver Tools Ergonomics | Firewalls | Games | Game Tweaks | Graphics | Input Devices | Internet Tools | Macintosh | Mail Utilities | Memory | Messaging | Monitoring | Microsoft | Multimedia | Networking | Office Tools | Process Management | Processor | Registry | Security | System Info | Toys | Video | Miscellaneous
|
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger