MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-19-06, 10:47
A'sfan A'sfan is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 70
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default need a memory test application

could someone please suggest to me a good memory test application? My computer has just recently become very S......L........O.........W....... and I think it corresponds with me foolishly using nvidia's ntuner without knowing what I was doing. I think I may have messed something up with the memory. I have read in these forums MemTest is good, but have also read it isn't. Any help would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 04-19-06, 12:30
Clark_Kent's Avatar
Clark_Kent Clark_Kent is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Fortress of solitude
Posts: 1,406
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 5 Posts
Cool Re: need a memory test application

This is a good one and simple you can download a disk version on the author web page this is what i uses http://www.majorgeeks.com/download.php?det=4226
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-19-06, 12:49
viper_boy403's Avatar
viper_boy403 viper_boy403 is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: McKinleyville, CA
Posts: 2,374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default Re: need a memory test application

yea, i use memtest too, its pretty good and reliable
__________________
What the F?!?!?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-19-06, 19:26
A'sfan A'sfan is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 70
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: need a memory test application

ok, I'll admit, I'm an idiot. I can't get this thing to work, do you download, then write the image to a disc (I use nero) and then pop the disc in and the program automatically starts up?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-19-06, 22:15
viper_boy403's Avatar
viper_boy403 viper_boy403 is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: McKinleyville, CA
Posts: 2,374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default Re: need a memory test application

put it in and then restart; it will boot from the disk. and you dont ened to waste a cd on a small mem test program, u can just use a simple lil' floppy :
__________________
What the F?!?!?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 04-20-06, 01:35
A'sfan A'sfan is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 70
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: need a memory test application

ok, now I'm frustrated, I really wish I was a little more of a genius....I don't have a floppy drive, so I have been wasting cd's trying to figure this out. I download the file, put in a disc, open up nero, click on burn image to disc, locate the iso file, burn it to a disc, leave the disc in, restart, click on my user name, and wham-o nothing happens. Alternate: I pop in a disc, open up nero, click on make a bootable cd, locate the file, burn it to the disc, restart, click on my user name, and wham-o nothing happens, actually, it just brings up the file like I just searched for it and located it in my browser, when I click on it, it takes me to nero. I think that may happen in both cases actually, either way, the program doesn't start. Sorry, maybe I should change my screen name to airhead. what am I doing wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-20-06, 02:14
otaku244's Avatar
otaku244 otaku244 is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: need a memory test application

If you haven't used a bootable disk on your computer before, your BIOS might be set to boot the HDD first. Go into your BIOS setup by pressing the proper key as the computer starts up (usually [ESC], [F1], [F2], or [F12]). From there, you will have to find the Boot menu and reprioritize your boot sequence to a combination that has your CD drive before your HDD.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-20-06, 06:45
Bold Eagle's Avatar
Bold Eagle Bold Eagle is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 2,559
Thanks: 18
Thanked 197 Times in 188 Posts
Default Re: need a memory test application

Firstly memtest is to assess HARDWARE and is for OC and hardcore tweaking!!!! Approach this from a different angle and look at SOFTWARE!!! You have imo the later! Did you do a clean install of latest drivers???!???!?!!!!???

Have you scrubbed the sys lately?;

http://forums.majorgeeks.com/showthread.php?t=35407

Unless there are other indicators (temp/volts/RPMs') your kidding yourself that memtest will do anything!!!! Are you OC if not you should look outside the f...ing triangle and insted download Your Uninstaller! 2006 and remove whatever app caused this SLOOOOOOOWWWWWWINGGGG because it maybe loaded with Adware/Spyware crud hijaking your sys! It's upto you but unless there are other indicators you have some crap SOFTWARE on your sys causing probs and you can run memtest till the cows come home but still suffer the same crap!
__________________
PC1: 805D, P5WDH, CNPS9500, OCZ GameXtreme 700W, Ballistix 4-4-4-12 PC2-6400 2x1GB, 2xWD250Gb (16Mb) SATAII RAID0, Crucial Radeon X1900 XTX 512MB
PC2: P4E 3.0Ghz (Prescott), XP Home SP2, SIS 661FX/GX, ATI Radeon 9250 256Mb, 2X512Mb PC3200 DDR SDRAM, 80Gb HDD, LG 16XDL DVD-RW
PC3: Cardboard Box, peanut dispenser, highly conc caffine intravenous drip, little monkey w "electro El Shocko rectal probe", 3dMark05=18768
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-20-06, 07:05
DavidGP's Avatar
DavidGP DavidGP is offline
MajorGeeks Forum Administrator - Grand Pooh-Bah
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 38,833
Thanks: 3,010
Thanked 3,106 Times in 2,819 Posts
Default Re: need a memory test application

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bold Eagle
Firstly memtest is to assess HARDWARE and is for OC and hardcore tweaking!!!! Approach this from a different angle and look at SOFTWARE!!! You have imo the later! Did you do a clean install of latest drivers???!???!?!!!!???

Have you scrubbed the sys lately?;

http://forums.majorgeeks.com/showthread.php?t=35407

Unless there are other indicators (temp/volts/RPMs') your kidding yourself that memtest will do anything!!!! Are you OC if not you should look outside the f...ing triangle and insted download Your Uninstaller! 2006 and remove whatever app caused this SLOOOOOOOWWWWWWINGGGG because it maybe loaded with Adware/Spyware crud hijaking your sys! It's upto you but unless there are other indicators you have some crap SOFTWARE on your sys causing probs and you can run memtest till the cows come home but still suffer the same crap!
While you maybe frustrated at what A'sfan is trying to do the language in the above post is not warranted at all!

If he wishes to run Memtest then so be it, this thread is about helping if you cannot do that then resist posting, Memtest is NOT the tool for Overclockers or Hardcore tweakers only, it maybe used by them to test a memory stick for errors or weaknesses in the modules, no more no less!

while on first look its sounds as if something else is potentially slowing his pc down, running Memtest couldnt hurt, eliminates one other possible area to the PCs sluggishness.

I would however be looking into the area you suggested in uninstalling the Nvidia drivers and re-installing them as well as uninstalling Rivatuner and cleaning out any left over reminents of that program from Program Files/Temp/Registry in which the tool CCleaner will help as well as Driver Cleaner Pro


A'sfan if you wish to run a Memtest tool and are having problems with Memtest then try this one http://www.majorgeeks.com/Microsoft_...tic_d3955.html plus full instructions for installing and running http://oca.microsoft.com/en/windiag.asp#top
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-20-06, 07:38
Bold Eagle's Avatar
Bold Eagle Bold Eagle is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 2,559
Thanks: 18
Thanked 197 Times in 188 Posts
Default Re: need a memory test application

Fair enough and I sincerely apologise, I was trying to empahasise my point but as you so tactfiully stated it was unbdue, I'm sorry (to HALO personally) and I take my hat of too yourself. I am and was behaing like a coarse but slightly informed individual. I still believe that memtest is purely for the hardware and unless there has been an obvious and immediate indicator (temps/volts/Rpm's) that software should be explored.

Poor and deplorale manners on my behalf but we know were I stand! Sincere,genuine but very Australian.
__________________
PC1: 805D, P5WDH, CNPS9500, OCZ GameXtreme 700W, Ballistix 4-4-4-12 PC2-6400 2x1GB, 2xWD250Gb (16Mb) SATAII RAID0, Crucial Radeon X1900 XTX 512MB
PC2: P4E 3.0Ghz (Prescott), XP Home SP2, SIS 661FX/GX, ATI Radeon 9250 256Mb, 2X512Mb PC3200 DDR SDRAM, 80Gb HDD, LG 16XDL DVD-RW
PC3: Cardboard Box, peanut dispenser, highly conc caffine intravenous drip, little monkey w "electro El Shocko rectal probe", 3dMark05=18768
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #11  
Old 04-20-06, 14:23
DavidGP's Avatar
DavidGP DavidGP is offline
MajorGeeks Forum Administrator - Grand Pooh-Bah
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 38,833
Thanks: 3,010
Thanked 3,106 Times in 2,819 Posts
Default Re: need a memory test application

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bold Eagle
I still believe that memtest is purely for the hardware and unless there has been an obvious and immediate indicator (temps/volts/Rpm's) that software should be explored.
Very true its a hardware test, but some OS and software issues can arise from faulty hardware and as you know some software crashes etc can strangly eminate from a faulty mem module, so while I still like you think that hardware in the case of RAM/Memory may not be the issue or root cause of A'sfan's slowdowns... still dont hurt to run it.

and thankyou for the post above, takes a true gent to openly reply like that, now lets see if we can find out the cause of A'sfan's slowness?

A'sfan, quick question, you mentioned you think that the problem started because you used ntuner, what gives you this idea? was it an error a crash?

Have you tried any of the steps I posted on removing the drivers and cleaning your temps/registry up to the steps Bold Eagle posted in relation to Malware as it could be a co-incidence that your pc is slow and you have Malware causing the slowdown?

Have you defragged, run Checkdisk ( chkdsk ) for harddrive errors?


the more info you can give on the symptoms the better
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-21-06, 01:47
A'sfan A'sfan is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 70
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: need a memory test application

Ummm... ok....I'm not exactly sure what bold eagle's problem is, but whatever.....My question was if someone could offer a suggestion on a memory test program, so that I could test my memory sticks to see if any of them had gone bad on me. I personally did not think this was such a silly question, but you guys know more than me about computers which is why I come to this site to try and get things straightened out that I mess up on my computer. No I don't OC, but do you need to in order to use memtest? I wasn't aware that this was a prerequisite. Maybe Bold Eagle, from his different angle, could suggest a more useful program to test the functionality of the memory on my computer, after all, that was all I was asking for. To answer some ?'s, scrubbed the system--yes, once a week--even went through the malware removal forum and got the thumbs up, uninstall old drivers and clean the registry, clean install new drivers---yes, last time I spoke with Eagle, which without looking had to have been 2 months ago (when he was more friendly), uninstall crap software and clean registry---yep, right after Eagle explained in a more mature fashion that Driver Detective is "crap" software, driver cleaner pro----yep, used it, disc defrag, chkdsk---yep, when using ntuner did the computer crash--yes, more than once, and I know it is supposed to shut down and restart, but this was different and a couple of times it said something like "not enough memory" or something like that (I have a gig with supposedly 3/4 free), and finally last but not least, thank you otaku244, you were right, my bios was set up to boot the HDD first. I have no idea what my computer's problem is, I just wanted to eliminate one more thing on my way to figuring it out.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-21-06, 01:54
A'sfan A'sfan is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 70
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: need a memory test application

I forgot to add, the reason I had ntuner was not because I was trying to OC, I was trying to eliminate another probable cause by updating drivers, and in the process I came across ntuner on nvidia's website, and it talked about making the computer run more smoothly, better memory function, blah blah, and since I am ingnorant to alot of things about computers, I downloaded it thinking it would help, and found out differently, and I think I may have hurt my computer's memory in the process.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-21-06, 04:18
DavidGP's Avatar
DavidGP DavidGP is offline
MajorGeeks Forum Administrator - Grand Pooh-Bah
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 38,833
Thanks: 3,010
Thanked 3,106 Times in 2,819 Posts
Default Re: need a memory test application

Bottom end of this post is an alternative to memtest if your having some problems with that software http://forums.majorgeeks.com/showpos...83&postcount=9

If PC crashed, in what way, blue screen crash or a crashed application or system file, if so which and what was the message? ...... you can trace past errors in the Event Viewer ( Control Panel > Administrative Tools > Event Viewer ), check for ones around the date/time of a crash, for a common faulting file etc?

"not enough memory" was this alert in the system tray with yellow ! mark triangle? check and tell us that your Virtual Memory/Pagefile settings are?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-21-06, 06:39
Bold Eagle's Avatar
Bold Eagle Bold Eagle is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 2,559
Thanks: 18
Thanked 197 Times in 188 Posts
Default Re: need a memory test application

Quote:
Originally Posted by A'sfan
....-yes, last time I spoke with Eagle.....
I do apologise bad day and it was appalling on my behalf it certainly wasn't meant personally.

memtest86 or memtest86+ are good for testing your mem and you can burn an iso onto a CD and run it from there.

Guide/instructions

http://www.short-media.com/review.php?r=276

Home site:

http://www.memtest.org/

Hope this will do the trick and please accept this as a gesture for my poor behaviour.

Set CD to boot first in BIOS and away you go.
__________________
PC1: 805D, P5WDH, CNPS9500, OCZ GameXtreme 700W, Ballistix 4-4-4-12 PC2-6400 2x1GB, 2xWD250Gb (16Mb) SATAII RAID0, Crucial Radeon X1900 XTX 512MB
PC2: P4E 3.0Ghz (Prescott), XP Home SP2, SIS 661FX/GX, ATI Radeon 9250 256Mb, 2X512Mb PC3200 DDR SDRAM, 80Gb HDD, LG 16XDL DVD-RW
PC3: Cardboard Box, peanut dispenser, highly conc caffine intravenous drip, little monkey w "electro El Shocko rectal probe", 3dMark05=18768
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #16  
Old 04-21-06, 23:24
A'sfan A'sfan is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 70
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: need a memory test application

bold eagle--accepted
halo--I'll look it up tomorrow and get back to you, sorry for slow response, I'm in the middle of moving and this has to come second for now. By the way, I ran memtest86+ and after 4 passes, it has shown 94 errors. I'm not sure how to translate what it is telling me, but I know errors aren't good. Anyone want to help?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-22-06, 00:33
Bold Eagle's Avatar
Bold Eagle Bold Eagle is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 2,559
Thanks: 18
Thanked 197 Times in 188 Posts
Default Re: need a memory test application

Okay what CPU do you have memtest86 can have issues with AMD and cause substantial "false positives" in test 2 & 5 I believe. Have a look at the site if you have AMD.

Take note of which test no. I generated a similar amount of errors and went into OS and found Windows Defender (WD) was playing havoc. Long story short repaired WD and some other impacted software, removed and reseated RAM, reran test and errors gone!!!!!!

Your doing OC so what are your RAM timings??
From what I have read it is best to have them at very loose timings, e.g. 4-4-4-11, and to crank up the FSB MHz will lead to greater performance boost than having "tight" timings, e.g. 2-3-3-8, which can lead to greater instability issues while OC. If your RAM is at SPD (Serial Prescence Detector chip=manufacters "safe settings") you may want to change them to manual and "loosen" the timings to achieve greater stability.

As far as dechipering the errors not sure on this (look at link provided) but it is good practice to remove a RAM stick, starting with E1, and run memtest86 again this will now test individual sticks, if that passes/fails remove E0 and replace with previously removed into the E0 slot and test again. From there you may be able to conclude 1, both or neither stick is impaired, false positive and RAM just needed to be reseated.
__________________
PC1: 805D, P5WDH, CNPS9500, OCZ GameXtreme 700W, Ballistix 4-4-4-12 PC2-6400 2x1GB, 2xWD250Gb (16Mb) SATAII RAID0, Crucial Radeon X1900 XTX 512MB
PC2: P4E 3.0Ghz (Prescott), XP Home SP2, SIS 661FX/GX, ATI Radeon 9250 256Mb, 2X512Mb PC3200 DDR SDRAM, 80Gb HDD, LG 16XDL DVD-RW
PC3: Cardboard Box, peanut dispenser, highly conc caffine intravenous drip, little monkey w "electro El Shocko rectal probe", 3dMark05=18768
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-22-06, 06:54
DavidGP's Avatar
DavidGP DavidGP is offline
MajorGeeks Forum Administrator - Grand Pooh-Bah
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 38,833
Thanks: 3,010
Thanked 3,106 Times in 2,819 Posts
Default Re: need a memory test application

for the very reasons Bold Eagle mentioned on false positives do also run the Microsoft memory tester, second opinons are always good, also as memtioned do pull your RAM and test one at a time, to narrow down a potental faulting module ( also serves as well in reseating the ram ).

@Bold... mentioned earlier I dont think A'sfan is OCing.. he just installed Ntuner as it mentioned it can help smoothness and stability.

but, it maybe worth resetting the Bios/Cmos to default?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-22-06, 12:41
Rikky's Avatar
Rikky Rikky is offline
Wile E. Coyote - One of a kind
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Thin line between the ideological and the pragmatic
Posts: 10,158
Thanks: 572
Thanked 737 Times in 637 Posts
Default Re: need a memory test application

Another program I like to use is prime 95,unzip the program,double click the icon,click options at the top,torture test,choose blend test which will test alot of ram and run it for an hour

http://www.majorgeeks.com/download.php?det=4363

IMHO if you can run it for an hour your computer is stable,if you can run it over night your computer is totally stable,dont omit the other tests though,each test has its own advantages and drawbacks
__________________
"No one panics when things go according to plan, even when the plan is horrifying." The Joker
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-22-06, 17:43
green11890's Avatar
green11890 green11890 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: need a memory test application

try downloading a linux distro cd(live) named ubuntu. It has a memory tester that you can select during the bootup. i dont remember but some other linux distros such as knoppix will have one.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger