MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-24-06, 12:38
skd44 skd44 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 181
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Unmountable boot volume

I have had a problem for about two weeks now, my computer will not boot and a blue screen that says unmountable boot volume keeps appearing. I have tried everything, including downloading the XP startup disks, but I can't even get those to run either. I downloaded those bc I have a compaq laptop and it didn't come with an XP disk. What should I do? I have been told that my hard drive is finished and that the only way to fix it is to get a new one, but I will lose anything. Is there ANY way to get my emails or music off the hard drive before I get a new one???
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 04-24-06, 12:46
Mada_Milty's Avatar
Mada_Milty Mada_Milty is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,878
Thanks: 4
Thanked 52 Times in 48 Posts
Default Re: Unmountable boot volume

You couldn't get XP boot floppies working? Did you configure the BIOS to boot from floppy?

And as for CDs...you laptop came with NOTHING?!? No CDs at all?
__________________
A+, Project+ Certified Network Engineering Grad
5 years Sys Admin exp. 11 years web dev exp.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-24-06, 12:48
skd44 skd44 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 181
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: Unmountable boot volume

I switched the boot order to boot from the floppy but it doesn't even seem to be reading the floppies, and the only disks that the laptop came with were the system recovery cd's, which if I use those I will lose everything and have everything restored to factory. Those CD's don't give me any option to do anything but restore the entire laptop to factory. I don't know what else to try.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-24-06, 12:50
Mada_Milty's Avatar
Mada_Milty Mada_Milty is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,878
Thanks: 4
Thanked 52 Times in 48 Posts
Default Re: Unmountable boot volume

Quote:
Originally Posted by skd44
I switched the boot order to boot from the floppy but it doesn't even seem to be reading the floppies, and the only disks that the laptop came with were the system recovery cd's, which if I use those I will lose everything and have everything restored to factory. Those CD's don't give me any option to do anything but restore the entire laptop to factory. I don't know what else to try.
Oh jeeez... no recovery console, nothing? That's hella lame of Compaq. With this being a laptop, I don't suppose there's much chance you could set this drive as a slave, and copy your personal files over to a master?
__________________
A+, Project+ Certified Network Engineering Grad
5 years Sys Admin exp. 11 years web dev exp.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-24-06, 13:02
skd44 skd44 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 181
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: Unmountable boot volume

Yeah unfortunately for me it didn't come with recovery console, thats why I downloaded the bootable floppy disks but those won't work as far as I've tried. As far as the slave master thing you mentioned, what does that entail or mean, I am afraid I am not familiar with any of that. I spoke with someone I know through family that worked at Comp USA in the tech dept and he told me that I have no options bc when he has seen the unmountable boot volume error that in most cases the hard drive is shot and unrecoverable. I'd like to believe there is some way to recover some of my files, at least me outlook express emails, bc I have alot of important work stuff on there. Any other suggestions???
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 04-24-06, 13:14
Mada_Milty's Avatar
Mada_Milty Mada_Milty is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,878
Thanks: 4
Thanked 52 Times in 48 Posts
Default Re: Unmountable boot volume

Please see this link for an explanation of master and slave drives. Essentially, you would be setting your old HDD up as a secondary drive so that you can pull files from it.
__________________
A+, Project+ Certified Network Engineering Grad
5 years Sys Admin exp. 11 years web dev exp.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-24-06, 13:17
bigbazza's Avatar
bigbazza bigbazza is offline
R.I.P. 14/12/2011 - Good Onya Geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cairns,Far North Qld,Australia
Posts: 10,768
Thanks: 891
Thanked 331 Times in 293 Posts
Default Re: Unmountable boot volume

Not sure whether this will help but can you remove the 2.5"drive from your laptop?
There is a cheap adapter / power connector / cable , that will allow a 2.5"drive to be installed into a desktop. The adapter is a combined power and pin connector and easliy connects to a desktop power connection. This may not help but may make it slightly easier as you can, at least, connect it to a working PC. Bazza

===

Quote:
Originally Posted by skd44
Yeah unfortunately for me it didn't come with recovery console, thats why I downloaded the bootable floppy disks but those won't work as far as I've tried. As far as the slave master thing you mentioned, what does that entail or mean, I am afraid I am not familiar with any of that. I spoke with someone I know through family that worked at Comp USA in the tech dept and he told me that I have no options bc when he has seen the unmountable boot volume error that in most cases the hard drive is shot and unrecoverable. I'd like to believe there is some way to recover some of my files, at least me outlook express emails, bc I have alot of important work stuff on there. Any other suggestions???
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-24-06, 13:18
Mada_Milty's Avatar
Mada_Milty Mada_Milty is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,878
Thanks: 4
Thanked 52 Times in 48 Posts
Default Re: Unmountable boot volume

Damn! Cheers, Bazza! That would be SLICK
__________________
A+, Project+ Certified Network Engineering Grad
5 years Sys Admin exp. 11 years web dev exp.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-24-06, 13:23
skd44 skd44 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 181
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: Unmountable boot volume

I am not sure that I follow your suggestion. What would be the advantage of removing my floppy drive and connecting it to a desktop PC? Are you saying to do this so I can run the bootable XP floppy disks on my laptop? I am not sure I understand completely? Sorry, I am just not familiar with alot of this stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-24-06, 13:28
bigbazza's Avatar
bigbazza bigbazza is offline
R.I.P. 14/12/2011 - Good Onya Geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cairns,Far North Qld,Australia
Posts: 10,768
Thanks: 891
Thanked 331 Times in 293 Posts
Default Re: Unmountable boot volume

My new laptop came with a hidden partition and another partition with XP installed. It also came with the option to backup info to 3 recovery disks. First one covered the hidden partition, second one I found out was M$ XP Pro, third one was Toshiba applications and drivers.

What I am getting at is, can you check out the disks in another PC, to see what is on them. One, or more, may be XP and allow you to do a system repair, rather than recovery (to factory installed).

Don't lose heart yet. There are plenty of more knowledgible folks, than I, here, who are only to willing to help. Bazza

===

Quote:
Originally Posted by skd44
I switched the boot order to boot from the floppy but it doesn't even seem to be reading the floppies, and the only disks that the laptop came with were the system recovery cd's, which if I use those I will lose everything and have everything restored to factory. Those CD's don't give me any option to do anything but restore the entire laptop to factory. I don't know what else to try.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #11  
Old 04-24-06, 13:34
Mada_Milty's Avatar
Mada_Milty Mada_Milty is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,878
Thanks: 4
Thanked 52 Times in 48 Posts
Default Re: Unmountable boot volume

Yeah, he's right....major geeks have beat the unmountable boot drive before! Also, setting the HDD as slave, if it didn't allow you to recover in the manner Bazza describes, it should at least allow you to copy important files over.

You may want to do a search for people with similar problems. You may find your answer there!
__________________
A+, Project+ Certified Network Engineering Grad
5 years Sys Admin exp. 11 years web dev exp.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-24-06, 13:52
skd44 skd44 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 181
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: Unmountable boot volume

Thank you very much gentleman, I will try and see what I can find, I am not giving up yet, its just frustrating is all. I will check the bootable floppy's on my roommates desktop, but I want to be careful not to do anything to his machine either.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-24-06, 14:43
bigbazza's Avatar
bigbazza bigbazza is offline
R.I.P. 14/12/2011 - Good Onya Geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cairns,Far North Qld,Australia
Posts: 10,768
Thanks: 891
Thanked 331 Times in 293 Posts
Default Re: Unmountable boot volume

No, I'm talking about removing your HARDDRIVE from your laptop, and installing into a desktop, with a special connector /cable / adapter. In some laptops it is easier than in others. Laptops are a lot more difficult to disassemble than desktops, as you already are aware. Sometimes it is a major exercise to remove a hard drive. Bazza

===

Quote:
Originally Posted by skd44
I am not sure that I follow your suggestion. What would be the advantage of removing my floppy drive and connecting it to a desktop PC? Are you saying to do this so I can run the bootable XP floppy disks on my laptop? I am not sure I understand completely? Sorry, I am just not familiar with alot of this stuff.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42.


MajorGeeks.Com Home Page
| Admin Tools | All In One | Anti-Spyware | Anti-Virus | Appearance | Backup | Benchmarking | BIOS | Browsers | Covert Ops |
Data Recovery | Diagnostics | Drive Cleaners | Drive Utilities | Drivers | Driver Tools Ergonomics | Firewalls | Games | Game Tweaks | Graphics | Input Devices | Internet Tools | Macintosh | Mail Utilities | Memory | Messaging | Monitoring | Microsoft | Multimedia | Networking | Office Tools | Process Management | Processor | Registry | Security | System Info | Toys | Video | Miscellaneous
|
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger