MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-30-06, 09:30
Mr.Wolf's Avatar
Mr.Wolf Mr.Wolf is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Hampshire with the moo moo cows!
Posts: 106
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Monitor isn't getting PCs signal?

Win XP SP1, GeForce 6600, no name mobo and no name LCD monitor.

Basically I had some virus (AdAware said it was mydoom). After a while I managed to get rid of it. So I was using my PC (which seemed to be a little buggy) and I decided to do a restart. Well afterwards, when the PC goes to boot up, the monitor doesnt display anything. So i turn everything off and wait overnight and try in the morning. Still nothing.
This morning i put in my little bros old video card in place of mine, and it still didn't work. I take the monitor downstairs and try it on my parents computer and it works. Then I bring it back up here and switch my hard drive signings around so it will boot from the one without windows, hoping to get something. Nothing happens.

Anyone have any ideas? Is my PC dead? I wouldn't really mind that, I had alot of junk on there and got all the important files out when i initially thought my PC was gonna die, so wouldn't mind starting over. Can anyone help me as to what may be causing this? Thanks for any help.
__________________
True Believers, You and I
- The Bouncing Souls
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 04-30-06, 09:51
Major Attitude's Avatar
Major Attitude Major Attitude is offline
Co-Owner MajorGeeks.Com
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Treasure Coast, Florida
Posts: 12,557
Thanks: 180
Thanked 1,971 Times in 806 Posts
Default Re: Monitor isn't getting PCs signal?

Your on the right track, you need to swap out your video card, then your monitor, then the cable. Once all 3 are replaced and there is still no video, odds are your motherboard is fried.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-30-06, 10:02
Mr.Wolf's Avatar
Mr.Wolf Mr.Wolf is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Hampshire with the moo moo cows!
Posts: 106
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Monitor isn't getting PCs signal?

Well if thats the case, can a good mobo be reccomended? I'm sort of out of the computer game nowadays, it would just need to be something with AGP, and a few PCI slots
__________________
True Believers, You and I
- The Bouncing Souls
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger