MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-03-06, 17:12
X_40's_X X_40's_X is offline
Specialist
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Cumberland, MD
Posts: 380
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default computer running slow

alright well ever since i put my old hard drive in my computer its been going slow.. so i restart it and its normal again.. and sometimes when im playing simple games like counter-strike.. i freeze and when i try to open task manager it doesnt go.. everything is just froze so i gotta restart my computer.. anyone have any ideas what could be wrong??.. could i of messed a part up when putting my other hard drive in?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 08-04-06, 12:04
TimW's Avatar
TimW TimW is offline
MajorGeeks Administrator - Jedi Malware Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The recesses of my mind!
Posts: 46,455
Thanks: 431
Thanked 4,589 Times in 4,342 Posts
Default Re: computer running slow

Would need to know what you did. As in, did you set the jumpers properly ...is the master at the end of the ide cable? Is the connection tight?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-04-06, 12:29
X_40's_X X_40's_X is offline
Specialist
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Cumberland, MD
Posts: 380
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: computer running slow

what should the jumpers be set to on the old hard drive? b/c i just stuck it in the computer and it worked :P lol
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-04-06, 12:33
TimW's Avatar
TimW TimW is offline
MajorGeeks Administrator - Jedi Malware Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The recesses of my mind!
Posts: 46,455
Thanks: 431
Thanked 4,589 Times in 4,342 Posts
Default Re: computer running slow

On the hard drive there should be a diagram of how the jumpers are to be set ...or on the manuf. website ...master (the hard drive with the os - at the end of the ide cable) , slave (your added hard drive at the middle connector) or, if your mobo supports it, both set to cable select, but still in the order given on the ide cable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 23:37.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger