hello, i'm new to mg.com

Discussion in 'Majorgeeks Welcome Center' started by ramblingramboridesagain, Mar 30, 2008.

1. hi, my name isal and igo by ramblingrambo.i drive a truck and bought this Gateway 840 Gm media center desktop 2 and a half years ago. I still know very little about pc's but i know that i have spent more on this cpu in the last 2 and a half years than i have my pickup i bought two weeks before the computer and it still operates great{the truck that is}. After purchasing the cpu i took a few cpu classes at the local community college. I installed Norton and my cpu has never ever worked perfect but i went for a year not knowing that it was supposed to work alot better than it did. Best Buy installed three new hard drives the last one is a 320 gb hard drive.in november my cpu was useless. i took it to a local shop. he worked on it and installed a nividia 7300 video card some free spyware, malware, anti virus programming. he also doubled the memory for about a total of 340.00 dollars. ok it still glitched, freeze up, and etc. I believe this cpu is cursed.it would turn itself on and off at will like a ghost.
    I took it back to him 2 weeks ago. It was freezing up all the time. The dvd burner tray kept opening and closing on its on and also the dvd rom drive. i would have to hit alt. del. to end the tasks. When i took it to him he said he cleaned it and updated my antivirus and antispyware, charged me forty dollars and i am right back where i started. Also the settings change at will and i am the only user, i have a cablehigh speed modem,with high speed service.idon't know where to go next. I think it is a bad motherboard, who knows? i will try anything ijust want my cpu to work right . if it worked right it would be more than i would ever need. I only need a volkswagon. this cpu should be a ferrari but it ain't

2. dr.moriarty

dr.moriarty Malware Super Sleuth Staff Member

3. wildwolf220

wildwolf220 Oracle of Doom

:wave and welcome to MG's..