Introduction and a forum question

Discussion in 'Majorgeeks Welcome Center' started by Mythrandyr, Nov 20, 2011.

1. Mythrandyr

Mythrandyr Private E-2

Hello!

My name is Lee Bridgeford, and I am from the Midwest Region of the USA. I have been using the 'Malware Removal' topic for a couple years to stay up to date on the best and latest software tools and procedures when dealing with attacks on family members computers. You maintain a truely useful website!

I was wondering where the best topic for general malware discussion is? I was finally inspired to register here after I finished cleaning up and removing an antivirus spoof on my mother-in-law's computer today. I encountered some variations that didn't turn up in my search for references and was looking for a topic to discuss. The 'Malware Removal' topic seemed inappropriate as I have already cleaned and removed all the malicious software.

Thanks!

2. StruldBrug

StruldBrug Sergeant

Hi and welcome to the group:wave

I am a bit too new to answer your question. Wondered about non problem discussions, myself, and where they would best fit.

Maybe, one of the bosses will shed some light for us.:-D

3. LauraR

LauraR MajorGeeks Super-Duper Administrator Staff Member

Hello and welcome to Major Geeks.:)

Hi...If you have a specific malware question that does not pertain to a machine you are still trying to clean, you can try to ask your question in a new thread in Malware. The experts in there would probably be the ones to ask as we don't deal with Malware in any other forums.

4. Mythrandyr

Mythrandyr Private E-2

Thanks Laura, I will do that.

Also, thanks to both of you for the welcome!

5. DavidGP

DavidGP MajorGeeks Forum Administrator - Grand Pooh-Bah Staff Member

Hi and Welcome