How to configure wi-fi in Linux mint, 32bit?

Discussion in 'Software' started by Wrenchman, Jul 6, 2012.

1. Wrenchman

Wrenchman Private First Class

Hi, I'm new to Linux so bare with me, here we go.

Since I have win 7 64bit installed, I thought that it would be correct to
    use Linux 64bit too, wrong!!!

The DOS works only with 32bit(BIOS f.34), so I downloaded the
    Linux Mint 12 KDE 32bit, and this one works like a charm.

The problem is, and here is my question,

How do I configure wi-fi in Linux?

It asks for some information like a MAC address and some other stuff, of which I have little or no clue.

But this MAC address really confuses me because it seems like there are many kinds:

HFC MAC ID

MTA MAC ID

Router MAC ID

Thanks,

:)

Wrenchman

2. DragonMaster Jay

DragonMaster Jay Private E-2

3. Wrenchman

I'll have a look at it, and then return with the outcome.

Thanks,

Wrenchman

4. DragonMaster Jay

Okay. Look forward to your result(s).

5. Wrenchman

Hi, I'm back for a quick question:

I have 130,06 GB of non allocated disk space on the WIN C: drive, which I did in the
    Disk Management BTW.

Should I format that in NTFS or FAT32, what do you recommend ?

PS. I have decided to install first, since I have a LINK cable!

My HP Officejet J4660 All-in-One runs on linux mint 12 KDE, and I didn't even install
    the driver CD.

Thanks,

Wrenchman

6. DragonMaster Jay

NTFS for the win!

7. Wrenchman

Sorry, didn't get that, it is not for windows, it is for Linux

Seems like there are other systems that are good for Linux besides NTFS and FAT32

btrfs, ext2, ext3, ext4, fat16, fat32, hfs, hfs+, jfs, linux-swap, ntfs, reiserfs, reiser4,
    and xfs

Well, now that really got me confused, please help me.

thanks,

Wrenchman

8. DragonMaster Jay

It should work for Linux, that's what I'm saying.

Most versions of Linux have the NTFS-3G driver. For those that don't, other premium products, like Paragon NTFS for Linux are available.