Hello and help ws32\ntoskrnl.dll

Discussion in 'Majorgeeks Welcome Center' started by scotty5, Sep 25, 2006.

1. scotty5

scotty5 Private E-2

hello everyone. I am a beginner with pc's. I have norton antivirus 2006 and adaware, spydoctor (free versions). The trojan ws32\ntoskrnl.dll keeps coming up. How do I get rid of it? What programme would be best to stop this happening in the future. Finally how do I get my self up to speed on the pc?

I dont want much then....thanks for any help!!

2. Solange

Solange Sergeant Major

Hello! :)

I'll let the malware wizards help you with the first few questions you have, and tackle what I can handle... ;) My solution is always to format and get rid of everything, but not everyone likes such drastic measures! :D

Best way to prevent it from happening is to have a firewall. Antivirus is good, when you are infected, and adaware can rid you of problems, but the firewall will prevent them from actually appearing (in most cases at least).

There are some nice free firewalls to download. Here is a nice list of them. Out of all these, I have tried Zonealarm and Sygate, and been happy with them, especially Sygate.

If you have windows XP, it comes with a built in firewall. It is better than nothing, so make sure it is on, you can see that in the Security Center in your Accessories menu.

About the speed thing, it would help to know a little more about what machine you have! There are some limits because of what hardware you have, to how fast it can get. Also, what operating system you are running would help! :) But one rule that always applies is that you need to run a Defrag regularly. You access defrag by rightclicking on your C-drive, select Properties and Tools.

3. scotty5

scotty5 Private E-2

Re: thank you Solange