Hello, I'm Johnny Crash - but seriously, folks, I need help!

Discussion in 'Majorgeeks Welcome Center' started by TreetopFlyer, Apr 11, 2008.

1. TreetopFlyer

TreetopFlyer Private E-2

Hello, group. I'm sorry my reason for joining with you today isn't to share my technical knowledge or expertise (I don't really have any - digital aerial photography, yes - computers, not so much), but rather I'm here to ask for your kind consideration of my plight. I'm an artist, you see, and not a computer wizard by any stretch.

I've had this old "spud box" (Micron Millennium PC) since, well, it's going on nearly ten years now and I've made lots of improvements to it over those years (all by myself, I'm proud to say) but lately I've been needing external storage capability and none of the hardware I could find would work with the W98SE system. So, I started searching the net, you know, and came across a few good prospects that required adding this or that (drivers, etc.) and thought maybe I could teach this old dog some new tricks, after all.

But in my search I also came across what seemed like might be a good first step, a tune-up of sorts - I downloaded and installed the WINDOWS 98SE 2.1a SERVICE PACK from this website and installed it. But now as a result of that (the horror) instead of any measurable improvement, my system has since been in the tank. I can no longer open my programs that I rely on to perform my work.