Hello! I'm new, with ??'s

Discussion in 'Majorgeeks Welcome Center' started by Donna Johnson, May 30, 2006.

1. Donna Johnson

Donna Johnson Private E-2

Hi, This is my first time on any forum. I'm sorry to start off with a question, but you guys seem pretty smart and I have had no good answer so far. I am a medical transcriber and do digital voice processing on my PC, using headphones hooked up to one of my speakers. I get annoying radio frequency (so I have been told) interference that is so loud it just about blows my ears off through my headphones. It is an intermittent, very loud buzzing, that comes and goes. I hear a more subtle buzzing when my office neighbor is using her cell phone. I am told this is coming from a nearby construction project. I have tried a little gadget I got at a radio store, like a heavy metal ring type thing that you wrap your headphone cord around, but it didn't help. When I unplug my headphones from the speaker, this noise comes out of my speakers. My boss is clueless, and bought me some "noise cancelling" headphones which didn't help. I have been told that my headphone cord or some of my computer wiring is actiing as an antenna. Does anyone know how I get rid of this? Thanks for any advice or suggestions. Happy Tuesday, Donna

2. cobrajet431

cobrajet431 Private First Class

Hi Donna. I don't have an answer, just wanted to say welcome 'cos i'm new too. Have a nice day.

3. Donna Johnson

Thanks for the good wishes!

Thanks Cobrajet! I know my problem is kind of weird but hopefully someone will be able to help. Seems like some smart folks on this site, so wish me luck! Take care!

4. BCGray

BCGray Guest

Hi Donna and WELCOME to MG