Missing "Non Plug and Play Drivers" from Device Manager

Discussion in 'Software' started by FoolishTech, Nov 9, 2011.

1. FoolishTech

FoolishTech Private E-2

OK, hate to be a noob here, but I've a system here that simply will not show the Non Plug and Play Drivers category. XP SP3

It's actually one of several I've run across with this issue over the last few weeks, and have not been able to resolve it. All systems were XP SP3 as best as I recall...

Of course, I fire up a command prompt and type
    Code:
    set devmgr_show_nonpresent_devices=1
    devmgmt.msc
    then when device manager starts up, I select show hidden devices... I'm also being sure to leave the command prompt open after I open the device manager.

I know that the set devmgr... bit is working, because I can see missing devices under "other devices" that I cannot see when I do NOT do the set devmgr... bit first.

The PC I am seeing this on right now did have the zero access rootkit on it, but was removed. Not sure if this is some component of the malware that disables the ability to view these devices in an attempt to hinder removal attempts... I haven't read anything on the subject in various whitepapers on zero access, however...

My Google-fu must be lacking, because I cannot seem to find any info on this issue. I found one article with no resolution that mentioned it could be a corrupted/missing component of device manager (the article was also about XP Embedded so I didn't expect much anyway)... every other result I can find only mentions how to view the category with the set devmgr... bit, but none mentions it not actually working...

I couldn't fix anything with SFC on any of the systems so far as it found nothing; and I don't know how to check for / what device manager components could possibly be missing/corrupted?

I have also tried same procedure in Safe Mode.