Samsung Galaxy J3 Pro Running Short Of Memory...?

Discussion in 'Smartphones and Tablets - Software' started by Stephen_c16, Sep 25, 2024.

1. Stephen_c16

Stephen_c16 Master Sergeant

Greetings.
    I am a novice to these phone things but mine seems to have run out of system memory.
    I have worked out that if you turn the power on whilst holding the volume up and home buttons down and wait for the logo to appear before some choice are offered.
    Should I delete the cache or wipe the disk?
    Any thoughts.
    Best wishes,
    s.

2. plodr

plodr Major Geek Super Extraordinaire

Do you mean memory as in RAM or do you mean storage as in GB?

Do you want a hard reset or a soft reset?

3. plodr

Here's what a soft reset does:
    Terminates any misbehaving apps or processes that might be causing freezes or slowdowns.
    Clears the phone's temporary memory (RAM), freeing up resources for smoother operation.
    Refreshes the connection between your phone and the cellular network, potentially resolving connectivity issues.

Here's what a hard reset does:
    Erases all user data and settings.
    Uninstalls all downloaded applications.
    Removes any saved accounts or login information.
    Restores the phone's operating system to its original factory state.

4. Stephen_c16

Thank you for getting back to me.
    My phone has 16GM internal memory of which 15.4GB is used even though I have moved all the images and video to the SD card. My partner gave me the phone when She found one with better camera stuff.
    I would quite like to use mine for photo/video work and this is why I would like to make more space on the internal drive.
    I followed the instruction to delete the cache but that didn't improve the situation.
    I have used an app called Samsung Smart switch which allowed me to make a backup of my phone to the SD card.
    Should I go through the Wipe data/factory reset choice?
    If I go ahead with the factory reset should I remove my SD card first?