Site is a blessing!!!

Discussion in 'Majorgeeks Welcome Center' started by cris81188, Jul 12, 2012.

1. cris81188

cris81188 Private E-2

Hey all. I am new and completely self-taught (I hear this is frowned upon=/) member here. The inspiration for my new found passion of sourcing (not sure if that is the right reference) came from my BF slowly but surely almost 100% locking/blocking out any history tracing----- hardware and software side. Everything from the simple IE history all the way down to event viewers is adjusted, unavailable, coded……..you name it. This is now a challenge to me!!!!! I have always been a seeker regardless of what is at the end of the rainbow (so to speak) if it is being hidden I want to find it LOL. Anyway, I am now just wanting to learn, I find it all very interesting, I feel like being able to read "comp language/source” and navigate the internet/computer is becoming almost as necessary as knowing the language of the country you are in. Anyway this is an awesome site and cant wait until I have more time to follow up on my first email.

See ya

:)

2. LauraR

LauraR MajorGeeks Super-Duper Administrator Staff Member

Welcome to MGs.:)

As far as the self taught, I'm not sure where it's frowned upon, but you definitely can't say that here.

Hope to see you join in.

3. satrow

satrow Major Geek Extraordinaire

Yup, self-taught is fine, we tend to learn more by our own mistakes than we would from some theoretical texts any way - especially when those texts are pumped out by the purveyors of software that want to hide the secret inner workings from us.

Welcome aboard :)

4. Spock96

Spock96 Major Geek 'Spocky'

Self taught is one of the best ways to go!
    "Take it apart. See how it works, break it if you must. Just remember how it goes back together. :)"~~ Me.

Welcome to the "Family" :wave
    Spock96

5. DavidGP

DavidGP MajorGeeks Forum Administrator - Grand Pooh-Bah Staff Member

Hi Cris