spybot S&D not responding

Discussion in 'Majorgeeks Welcome Center' started by Cithiel, Jan 5, 2009.

1. Cithiel

Cithiel Private E-2

Hello,
    My name is Cithiel... am trying to clean up my PC, hoping I can do this with your help.

2. TimW

TimW MajorGeeks Administrator - Jedi Malware Expert Staff Member

If you think you have malware on your system, please go here:
    READ & RUN ME FIRST. Malware Removal Guide

and when you have the requested logs, start a thread in that (Malware Forum) forum.

Oh!!! And welcome to MG's. :)

3. Cithiel

Cithiel Private E-2

as a newbie I'm threading in unknown waters... so pls bear with me... am on 2nd step on cleaning my pc. downloaded & ran spybot s&d... following directions given
    it runs thru & in my case found 139 problems... now here's where I'm having issues... when I click the fix it... it freezes up... & gives the "not responding" message...
    I closed the page & hit re-start PC. Once my pc rebooted ran it again & the same happened. So I following the advise here MG's uninstalled it making sure it wasn't still in my C:/... re-downloaded it & it went thru all the steps & found 139 files (again)... so I clicked the fix it again & it did the very same thing... Help! what am I doing wrong? Are the viruses in my PC causing this? is there anyway around it?...
    -Cith

4. Cithiel

Cithiel Private E-2

Hi Tim & thx for the welcome : )
    head still spinning w/ the newness of this site & not sure I'm posting correctly... so I post the previous b4 i saw ur post : ( yes I did & am following steps in link U posted...
    I have done
    step #1 + CCleaner,
    step 2,
    am in step #3 for XP
    ran the SUPERAntiSpyware & having prob w/ spybot s&d as stated in my previous post...
    any advise as to getting this spybot to stop "not responding"?

5. Lev

Lev MajorGeek

Welcome to MajorGeeks.com :)