MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Software
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Software Software such as operating systems like Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 etc., or specific programs.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-16-12, 08:31
LauraR's Avatar
LauraR LauraR is offline
MajorGeeks Super-Duper Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Northeast, USA
Posts: 10,780
Thanks: 618
Thanked 1,338 Times in 973 Posts
Default Acronis Online Backup

Does anyone use this?

Thoughts?

Opinions?

I just found out that my Windows 7 system restore does not work. Apparently, it's a problem that I did not know about. Doing a google search found enormous amounts of people that have issues with win 7 deleting restore points.


Anyway, it brought home to me the fact that I am not very good about backing up my computer. I have Acronis, but haven't really used it. I noticed they have an online service that is appealing. A Cloud type deal where you can also access your information from any internet connected PC.
__________________
It has become appallingly obvious that our technology has exceeded our humanity.
~Albert Einstein
Major Geeks on Facebook
Major Geeks Newsletter
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 05-16-12, 09:12
satrow's Avatar
satrow satrow is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Waimoana
Posts: 5,217
Thanks: 498
Thanked 1,222 Times in 1,105 Posts
Default Re: Acronis Online Backup

<I have a similar problem with W7 and no restore points, not had the free time to investigate it (first time I've even mentioned it) so I have no clue as to how you might tackle that side of it.>

On cloud backups generally: I'd have to say spread your data (replicate it) over several different companies (check privacy policies, etc. too), be careful about what you upload, an innocent, or even medical, photo inside a zip might get your data deleted (thinking back to a comment I saw about Skydrive recently).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-16-12, 09:17
LauraR's Avatar
LauraR LauraR is offline
MajorGeeks Super-Duper Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Northeast, USA
Posts: 10,780
Thanks: 618
Thanked 1,338 Times in 973 Posts
Default Re: Acronis Online Backup

I was thinking I could do a complete backup on. It's just for files, etc. I did the free for a month deal. Not sure I'll bother. I have an external harddrive. I'm also going to back up my files on CDs.

Yeah, not sure on the Restore points. Seems like a stupid basic thing for Win 7 to have go wrong for some many. I'm not sure what the fix is. Maybe I'll play later. If anyone knows, let me know.
__________________
It has become appallingly obvious that our technology has exceeded our humanity.
~Albert Einstein
Major Geeks on Facebook
Major Geeks Newsletter
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-16-12, 09:18
LauraR's Avatar
LauraR LauraR is offline
MajorGeeks Super-Duper Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Northeast, USA
Posts: 10,780
Thanks: 618
Thanked 1,338 Times in 973 Posts
Default Re: Acronis Online Backup

I just found this: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2533911
__________________
It has become appallingly obvious that our technology has exceeded our humanity.
~Albert Einstein
Major Geeks on Facebook
Major Geeks Newsletter
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-16-12, 09:21
Earthling's Avatar
Earthling Earthling is online now
Interplanetary Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 3,538
Thanks: 122
Thanked 797 Times in 739 Posts
Default Re: Acronis Online Backup

Acronis (2011/2012) is a great product, I'd trust it with my life, but before using the online feature I'd advise getting completely familiar with it simply backing up to an external. It isn't the most intuitive of softwares
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 05-16-12, 09:24
LauraR's Avatar
LauraR LauraR is offline
MajorGeeks Super-Duper Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Northeast, USA
Posts: 10,780
Thanks: 618
Thanked 1,338 Times in 973 Posts
Default Re: Acronis Online Backup

Ha! No it isn't. and you've helped me with it before.

Right now I'm doing a Disk backup. I'm not going to worry about the online stuff at the moment.

Can someone look at the link to the MS article above for me? I'm a bit worried about this: "6. Delete 'pagefile.sys' from the root of C: drive. Note: pagefile.sys is a hidden file and is not visible until you set the folder option to view hidden files."
__________________
It has become appallingly obvious that our technology has exceeded our humanity.
~Albert Einstein
Major Geeks on Facebook
Major Geeks Newsletter
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-16-12, 09:59
Colemanguy's Avatar
Colemanguy Colemanguy is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Salina Kansas
Posts: 3,518
Thanks: 147
Thanked 281 Times in 240 Posts
Default Re: Acronis Online Backup

For just online file backup, i would highly recommend www.carbonite.com, super easy to easy and very non system resource demanding.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-16-12, 10:46
plodr's Avatar
plodr plodr is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: at my computer
Posts: 13,814
Thanks: 179
Thanked 2,469 Times in 2,290 Posts
Default Re: Acronis Online Backup

Rather than deleting the pagefile (which truthfully scares me), try clearing it at shutdown. That might fix the issue
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/314834
__________________
7" ASUS eeepc with linux
Aspire V5 7 HomePremium
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-16-12, 11:24
satrow's Avatar
satrow satrow is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Waimoana
Posts: 5,217
Thanks: 498
Thanked 1,222 Times in 1,105 Posts
Default Re: Acronis Online Backup

Quote:
Originally Posted by plodr View Post
Rather than deleting the pagefile (which truthfully scares me), try clearing it at shutdown. That might fix the issue
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/314834
I think clearing it will only fix 'soft' problems, if there's a 'hard'-er error (bad block?), remove the pagefile, reboot to Safe Mode and reallocate it, reboot normally to populate it as usual.

<not checked the link yet, sorry>

EDIT: Ok, just given Laura's KB link a quick read; from the safety aspect, Windows will always use a pagefile (though not the pagefile.sys), even if you've set it for no paging file on any drive - it's a built-in safety net (not sure how far that goes back over Windows versions, pretty sure it stands as far back as XP, at least).

It's safe to follow those instructions (though I'd still do the delete pagefile.sys/recreate from within Safe mode - old habits dying hard, and all that).

Last edited by satrow; 05-16-12 at 11:31.. Reason: adding stuff ^^
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-16-12, 11:56
LauraR's Avatar
LauraR LauraR is offline
MajorGeeks Super-Duper Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Northeast, USA
Posts: 10,780
Thanks: 618
Thanked 1,338 Times in 973 Posts
Default Re: Acronis Online Backup

Yeah, the article actually states

Quote:
The resolution to this issue is to disable, delete and then recreate the paging file.
...so this is not a permanent delete.

The fact that this is specifically from MS and is their fix for the restore point problem gives me more confidence.

I just did a Acronis system backup, so I have something to fall back on (I suppose).
__________________
It has become appallingly obvious that our technology has exceeded our humanity.
~Albert Einstein
Major Geeks on Facebook
Major Geeks Newsletter
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #11  
Old 05-16-12, 14:31
Earthling's Avatar
Earthling Earthling is online now
Interplanetary Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 3,538
Thanks: 122
Thanked 797 Times in 739 Posts
Default Re: Acronis Online Backup

Quote:
Originally Posted by LauraR View Post
I just did a Acronis system backup, so I have something to fall back on (I suppose).
You do have providing you have created and tested the Rescue Media (CD). Some partition backups - non-OS partitions - can be restored by booting to the OS and running the program, but the backup of the OS partition itself can only be restored by booting to the Rescue CD.

Apologies if I hammered this home before Laura
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-16-12, 14:55
LauraR's Avatar
LauraR LauraR is offline
MajorGeeks Super-Duper Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Northeast, USA
Posts: 10,780
Thanks: 618
Thanked 1,338 Times in 973 Posts
Default Re: Acronis Online Backup

Quote:
Originally Posted by Earthling View Post
You do have providing you have created and tested the Rescue Media (CD). Some partition backups - non-OS partitions - can be restored by booting to the OS and running the program, but the backup of the OS partition itself can only be restored by booting to the Rescue CD.

Apologies if I hammered this home before Laura
First of all, thanks Earthling.

I do have rescue CDs that I created when I first got the computer. How often should those be created?

On a regular basis, what would you recommend backing up?
__________________
It has become appallingly obvious that our technology has exceeded our humanity.
~Albert Einstein
Major Geeks on Facebook
Major Geeks Newsletter
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-16-12, 15:17
Earthling's Avatar
Earthling Earthling is online now
Interplanetary Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 3,538
Thanks: 122
Thanked 797 Times in 739 Posts
Default Re: Acronis Online Backup

Quote:
Originally Posted by LauraR View Post
I do have rescue CDs that I created when I first got the computer. How often should those be created?
These would only be used if you needed/wanted to restore your comp to the state it was in when first bought. They are highly destructive as they wipe everything you have added since then - your software, personal files, everything. They need only be created once, in fact with some marques CAN only be created once. Acronis makes them redundant.

Quote:
On a regular basis, what would you recommend backing up?
I do a full backup of my system partition at least monthly, usually directly after the updates are installed. Not sure which version you have but with 2011 and 2012 you can set it so that it just keeps the latest 2 or 3 versions and discards the oldest. That works well as old backups aren't a great deal of use generally.

It's a good plan to move all of your own files to a different drive or partition. This keeps backups small but more importantly prevents your own files from being overwritten if you needed to restore your system partition.

I don't use Acronis for anything other than system backups and prefer to use a sync program for all my own stuff.

But whatever method you prefer it's vital to keep backing up and not wait until disaster has struck!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-16-12, 15:33
LauraR's Avatar
LauraR LauraR is offline
MajorGeeks Super-Duper Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Northeast, USA
Posts: 10,780
Thanks: 618
Thanked 1,338 Times in 973 Posts
Default Re: Acronis Online Backup

I have Acronis 2010.

Why can't it be backed up on an external HDD? I was doing that based on stuff I saw online.

So you use CDs? That's got to use a ton. I have them, but don't use them for anything.

My biggest concern that I don't ever want to lose are my pictures. I always back those up.
__________________
It has become appallingly obvious that our technology has exceeded our humanity.
~Albert Einstein
Major Geeks on Facebook
Major Geeks Newsletter
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-16-12, 15:42
Earthling's Avatar
Earthling Earthling is online now
Interplanetary Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 3,538
Thanks: 122
Thanked 797 Times in 739 Posts
Default Re: Acronis Online Backup

Laura, I failed to explain in the previous post that you must run Acronis and from it create its own Rescue Media, as this is what you must have in order to restore a system backup. The rescue CD contains a cut down version of the installed software, sufficient to boot the system, find the backup file, and direct it to whichever drive or partition is to be restored

Re CDs, they are only used for the rescue CD. The image files themselves are best stored on a HDD.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Earthling For This Useful Post:
LauraR (05-16-12)
Sponsored links
  #16  
Old 05-17-12, 03:49
pwillener's Avatar
pwillener pwillener is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 1,569
Thanks: 17
Thanked 259 Times in 232 Posts
Default Re: Acronis Online Backup

Quote:
Originally Posted by LauraR View Post
I do have rescue CDs that I created when I first got the computer. How often should those be created?
You should create a (bootable) Rescue CD each time you update/upgrade Acronis.

A few years ago when I started to use Acronis, before I installed Windows XP SP3, I tested the backup and restore. What I found then is that I could not use an older Rescue CD with a backup that was created with a slightly newer version of Acronis.

External hard disks are very inexpensive these days, and it is a good idea to backup to such a HD. Backing up to DVD seems risky to me; DVDs are not 100% reliable.

Regarding Acronis Online Backup; I believe you have to pay for that. I much prefer to backup to a local external HD.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to pwillener For This Useful Post:
LauraR (05-17-12)
  #17  
Old 05-17-12, 05:52
LauraR's Avatar
LauraR LauraR is offline
MajorGeeks Super-Duper Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Northeast, USA
Posts: 10,780
Thanks: 618
Thanked 1,338 Times in 973 Posts
Default Re: Acronis Online Backup

Okay...I'll start over. I think I need to buy a new External HDD anyway...or take the one I bought my husband that he hasn't used...
__________________
It has become appallingly obvious that our technology has exceeded our humanity.
~Albert Einstein
Major Geeks on Facebook
Major Geeks Newsletter
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Acronis Backup failed to Validate bigbazza Software 6 04-05-11 10:49
Guys I need to backup my Computer with Acronis Home 11 Sanxer Software 3 03-15-11 07:18
Restoring full backup from Acronis Grumbles Software 6 06-20-08 17:54
Acronis True Image V10.0 backup program bigbazza Software 4 11-05-06 13:47
Acronis True image to backup Reiser FS? Zaar Software 1 05-13-06 07:30


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51.


MajorGeeks.Com Home Page
| Admin Tools | All In One | Anti-Spyware | Anti-Virus | Appearance | Backup | Benchmarking | BIOS | Browsers | Covert Ops |
Data Recovery | Diagnostics | Drive Cleaners | Drive Utilities | Drivers | Driver Tools Ergonomics | Firewalls | Games | Game Tweaks | Graphics | Input Devices | Internet Tools | Macintosh | Mail Utilities | Memory | Messaging | Monitoring | Microsoft | Multimedia | Networking | Office Tools | Process Management | Processor | Registry | Security | System Info | Toys | Video | Miscellaneous
|
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger