Bugs! and now what

Discussion in 'Majorgeeks Welcome Center' started by shivagreg, Aug 12, 2009.

1. shivagreg

shivagreg Private E-2

Hi, Guys!
    I'm a total newbie here. Found the site (like many others, surely), trying to get rid of malware I'd picked up. I followed the instructions sequentially, about cleaning the machine and getting rid of files, etc. Downloaded the five programs and ran them, with
    the SAS program picking up a couple of browser hijackers, and two trojans.
    What I don't know - not knowing how to interpret the logs - is if my computer is now bug free (though MUCH improved).
    Is this where I attach the logs?
    VERY appreciative of the focus and help offered here by everyone.
    THANK YOU
    greg

2. LauraR

LauraR MajorGeeks Super-Duper Administrator Staff Member

Hello and Welcome to MGs :)

If you have performed all steps of the Read and Run Me thread, then follow Step 3 if you are not sure about your computer being completely clean:

Step 3: Do You Still Have Problems
    • Yes, I’m still having problems
      • DO NOT run the READ ME again!!!! Please attach your logs as given below.
      • If you do not already have a thread started, start a new thread otherwise post the following in your original thread. Clearly describe in detail the problems you are having and how long ago they started. Think about what you were doing at the time.
      • Now you need to attach (See: HOW TO: Attach Items To Your Post ) the below logs created while running the above scans
        • SASlog.txt log from SuperAntiSpyware.
        • Malwarebytes Anti-Malware log
        • ComboFix.txt (normally C:\ComboFix.txt)
        • RRlog.txt (from RootRepeal)
        • MGlogs.zip - normally it is C:\MGlogs.zip - only attach this log from MGtools.exe DO NOT attach any logs seen in the MGtools folder.