All Electric Cars

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Earthling, Jul 26, 2017.

1. Earthling

Earthling Interplanetary Geek

Today the UK government announced that from 2040 no new petrol or diesel cars can be sold. Wow! Do they have any idea at all how much employment depends on the automotive industry? Or how this might go if other developed countries don't go down the same road? Sure it's a good thing to be seen to be trying to tackle air pollution but this sort of initiative has to be international or it's pointless. If Trump survives he sure won't be joining in. but what are people's experiences with all electric? Is it really practical?

Last edited: Jul 26, 2017
    DavidGP likes this.
  2. LauraR

LauraR MajorGeeks Super-Duper Administrator Staff Member

I have no experience with electric cars. I do have to say that in 23 years, with the way technology has been going, I think it's pretty realistic that this world should have something other than cars that run on gas/petrol. It's insane to me that other than the fact that they've made them a bit safer and have added computer systems in them, that they still run the same way as they did pretty much when first started.

I'm not sure how having to build alternative engine cars will affect employment. They'll still have to be built.

I hope all countries follow along. I don't see the US following that though, even if Trump is out of office (my fingers are crossed on that front). Frankly, I think we are behind the times and science when it comes to letting go of our huge ass gas guzzling machines we drive.

3. Earthling

So do I, but I'm not putting my money on it! In the end it will all depend on electric meeting users' needs but I can't be optimistic about that.

4. Imandy Mann

Imandy Mann MajorGeekolicious