Has my computer been compromised by foolish teen.

Discussion in 'Majorgeeks Welcome Center' started by NoTechB, Apr 26, 2009.

1. NoTechB

NoTechB Private E-2

Hello,

I am not sure if this is the right place to ask, but don't have many options. I am very careful with my computer security, but am very frightened that my foolish grandson has done something that might cause me problems with my computer being compromised.

He went some places he should not have gone on my computer and I found some "films" he purchased. I do run a full security suite, but obviously it did not prevent him from pulling this stunt.

I have run my anti-virus and spyware. I looked through the site controls on my security suite and most of the items there look pretty familiar.

But I am afraid that I might have some sort of program that could have stolen information or will steal information from my computer.

This is deeply distressing for me. I am not technically inclined and am so careful. It never occurred to me that he would do such a thing. But, I cannot undo it, I just need to find out if there is a problem in my computer, that is not obvious to me.

It appears to be running fine. I have run full security checks with my suite, also with spybot, I downloaded HiJackThis... but have not done anything with it... because I don't know what I am doing.

Except, I thought if I asked here, perhaps someone would look at a log and tell me if they see anything that leaps out as a problem. Thank you in advance for any help.

2. joey off the street

joey off the street Lounge Lizard No.1

Hello, B, and welcome to MGs :wave
    Ideally, you should start here: READ & RUN ME FIRST. Malware Removal Guide.

http://forums.majorgeeks.com/forumdisplay.php?f=35