I can't get any Microsoft Web page

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by annabub, May 4, 2004.

1. annabub

annabub Private E-2

I have tried several times over the last few days to access any Microsoft web page, specifically Microsoft.com. I always get logged out, bad gateway, etc.

Also, can you recommend a Trojan remover.

Last edited: May 4, 2004
  2. Kodo

Kodo SNATCHSQUATCH

what OS are you using.

Sounds like something modified your hosts file.

3. annabub

annabub Private E-2

Hate to sound stupid, but what is an OS?

4. Adrynalyne

Adrynalyne Guest

Operating System

5. annabub

annabub Private E-2

How do I find out what version of Windows I use? Sorry, but I'm new to this computer stuff.

6. Omegamerc

Omegamerc MajorGeek

right click my computer go to properties the first window pop up should state all the info you need. Good luck

7. annabub

annabub Private E-2

It's a Windows XP Home Edition Version 2002 Service Pack 1.

8. annabub

annabub Private E-2

I have run all the antivirus programs that I downloaded from this site, however, I think that whatever is in my computer is preventing me from accessing the Microsoft.com site. What do you suggest?

P.S. The message the comes up when I try to go there is:

Gateway timeout. The following error occurred:
    Server ureachable

Please contact the administrator.

9. Kodo

Kodo SNATCHSQUATCH

go to this directory on your system

C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc

in there is a file called HOSTS. There may also be a file called HOSTS.SAM, we need not worry about that one. Just the one that says HOSTS with NO extension. Open it with notepad and copy and paste the contents to a post here so we can see what you have going on.

10. annabub

annabub Private E-2

Is this where I go to the Start, then RUN? Please walk me through this (to get to that directory).

11. Kodo

Kodo SNATCHSQUATCH

you can do that. Copy that location from my post and paste it into the RUN box. It will open up right to that location.