internet explorer stopped working and kernel32.dll

Discussion in 'Software' started by jannie3, Apr 28, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jannie3

jannie3 Private First Class

Hi everyone. Im new to majorgeeks and hope one of you clever folk can assist me with this problem. I am continually getting Internet Explorer has stopped working and when checked for solutions advised non available.
    This is happened 100s of times in last the few weeks. Im also getting only part of a webpage displayed on many websites (including this one)and unable to display the page error. This comes and goes as Im reading the page. The globe icon appears in the error crossed out with a red cross and the page error states retype address go back to previous page, likely causes not connected to internet, website encountering problems.

As its stopping me doing much on the PC I looked up how to do an event viewer, checked that, and it says that the type of error is APPCRASH iexplore.exe. The source name in the event view is App Hang and says the fault module name is kernel32.dll version 6.0.6002.18449.
    Any ideas of how I can fix it?

2. mdonah

mdonah Major Geek Extraordinaire

What version of Windows and what version of IE are you running? Do you have ALL of the latest updates including the latest version of IE for your version of Windows?

Be advised that IE versions 6 through 11 are subject to a recent exploit that even the Federal Government was made aware of.

3. jannie3

Hi there mdonah. Im using Windows Vista. I dont know what version of Internet Exploret Im running. How do I find out? I have the PC set to update automatically so hope Ive got all the latest. Since posting my first message Ive also got a NVIDIA service update error ie 'failed to start'. Could this be linked to the problems Im having?

4. mdonah