Laptop Not Starting.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jomumo4, May 17, 2017.

1. jomumo4

jomumo4 Private E-2

IMG_0347.JPG IMG_0345.JPG This morning I pressed the power button on my laptop. It started to boot up, but then just stopped and went off again. I tried pressing the power button again, both long and short presses, but it's unresponsive. Now it's repeatedly (every 5 seconds) flicking as if to turn on, but in a split second stopping. The laptop is plugged in to the mains and the indicator light for the battery charging is on constantly. When it 'flicks' the power light and the hard drive lights flick on, and I can hear the hard drive disc start to spin. But it instantly stops (less than half a second) and then in five seconds repeats. Is it beyond resuscitation? If I cut its power sources, will tat wreck any chances?

I know you need to know details of the laptop, but I'm not technically savvy at all...just know how to use the software! I have included shots of the labels on it in hopes that will be enough. It is still running Windows 7, with updates regularly done.

2. MaxTurner

MaxTurner Banned

Unplug it from the power socket, now remove the battery (if necessary look at the user manual) and then, when NOT plugged in to socket, press the power button on the system for 30 seconds, to drain all power from it.
    Now, leaving the battery OUT, plug the system in via the power socket adapter and check to see what lights turn on.

Your system is an Acer ASPIRE v3 771g
    https://www.acer.com/ac/en/GB/content/support-product/4090?b=1

You need to try to get into Windows Safe Mode - Recovery options
    https://www.lifewire.com/how-to-start-windows-7-in-safe-mode-2624540

Just some advice: Instead of posting pics of stickers you can just write down the information and post it.

Last edited: May 17, 2017
    baklogic likes this.
  3. jomumo4

jomumo4 Private E-2

That was a fast reply... thanks!

I have done what you suggested, and it has fired up!