Need To Master Format A Dvd+rw But Can't Figure Out How

Discussion in 'Software' started by Jesse Newell, Jan 16, 2018.

1. Jesse Newell

Jesse Newell MajorGeek

I just bought a Blu-ray player and the instructions say, "You have to set the disc format option to [Mastered] in order to make the discs compatible". But I can't figure out how to do that. I erased all data on a disc using CDBurnerXP, then formatted the disc from the Windows context menu, and then ejected it. But every time I reinsert it, a window pops up asking me ro drag and drop files into it. So it's obviously formatted to work like a flash drive. But I need it formatted to work with my Blu-ray player. What should I do? Or do I just need a brand new disc I've never used before?

2. TimW

TimW MajorGeeks Administrator - Jedi Malware Expert Staff Member

DVD's don't work on Blu-ray.

3. Geek_Justin

Geek_Justin Corporal

4. Geek_Justin

Geek_Justin Corporal

5. Jesse Newell

Jesse Newell MajorGeek

What are you talking about? Of course they do. I've never heard of a Blu-ray player that doesn't also play DVDs.

6. Jesse Newell

Jesse Newell MajorGeek

7. TimW

My bad....I was thinking about older players. What model do you have?

8. Jesse Newell

Jesse Newell MajorGeek

9. Jesse Newell

Jesse Newell MajorGeek

It's an LG BP350.

Attached Files:

10. TimW

11. Jesse Newell

Jesse Newell MajorGeek

Sorry, I've read through every post on that page and I don't see how it's relevant. I may be worrying about nothing. Maybe I'm just confused between recorded discs and data discs. I attached the Blu-ray player's instruction manual to my last post. Page 8 lists all the playable discs. There's a note on page 9 that says at the bottom, "